Home   >   Business   >   Business News   >   201309
Reduce financial burdens on Government, boards urged   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
Mrs Dzifa Attivor, Minister of Transport, has urged the reconstituted board of the Ghana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) and the Ghana Airport Company Limited (GACL) to come out with innovative funding mechanisms to reduce the financial burden on Government.

She urged them to avoid activities that could lead to industrial tension and cautioned the members to desist from dealing with other authorities without due consultation with the Ministry of Transport.

Mrs Attivor said this when she inaugurated the reconstituted boards for the Ghana Civil Aviation Authority and the Ghana Airport Company Limited, respectively in Accra.

She appealed to the State Enterprises Commission (SEC) to organise seminars and workshops on institutional governance to spell out the distinct roles for boards and managements to serve as a guide for the effective and smooth operation of the institutions.

Spelling out the functions of the two boards, Mrs Attivor noted that the GCAA was established under the Ghana Civil Aviation Act 678 of 2004 as a regulator of the sub-sector and the provider of air navigation services within the Accra Flight Information Region (FIR).

“The GACL was also established in 2006 under the companies’ code of 1963 (Act 179) to be responsible for the planning, development, management and maintenance of all public and civil airports and airstrips in the country”, she said.

She urged members of the two boards to help the Ministry in its quest to expand the Kotoka International Airport (KIA) terminal building; the rehabilitation of regional airports and the development of new ones in other regions.

Mrs Attivor said there are plans for the construction of the aviation training academy to meet the needs of the industry and the acquisition of a piece of land at Ningo Prampram for the development of a new airport.

She said progress has been made with regards to the establishment of a new national carrier in collaboration with the private sector under the Private Public Partnership (PPP) arrangement.

The nine member board of the GCAA include Air Vice Marshall Edem Dovlo, Chairman; Captain Daniel Gomez, member; Mr Yaw Benneh, member; Mrs Sanja Anita Morrison, member; Alhassan Suhiyini, member; Ms Peggy Addo, member; Mr Ellis Hugh-Tamakloe, member; Air Commodore Maxwell Nagai, member; and Air Commodore Kwame Memphey who is also a member.

The eight member board of the GACL include Mr Tony Lithur, Chairman; Mrs Giella Agbotui, member; Dr Bettie Solomon Ayeh, member; Mrs Irene Akoto-Marfo, member; Mr Vitus Anaab Bisi, member; Dr Ebenezer Ayirebi-Acquah, member and Mr Twumasi –Anka Selby.
Source: GNA

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.