Home   >   News   >   Education   >   201609
Cape Coast, Tamale Polytechnics Cleared For Conversion To Universities   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 1 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
Two more Polytechnics have finally been cleared for conversion to technical Universities. These are the Cape Coast and Tamale Polytechnics, bringing to eight Polytechnics to be converted to universities by the end of this month.

A statement signed by the Minister for Education Professor Naana Jane Opoku Agyemang said the decision by the Technical Committee followed a re-assessment of the two institutions which have met the criteria.

The latest development brings to rest agitations by some students and lecturers when their institutions missed out the first approved list. The decision has also killed another dirty campaign message by the main opposition party, the NPP which tried to exploit the situation by painting the picture of pure discrimination against institutions and the people of the Central region.

Initially, the Accra, Kumasi, Koforidua, Ho, Takoradi and Sunyani polytechnics met the requirement and were converted leaving out Cape Coast, Tamale, Wa and Bolgatanga polytechnics.

Government’s policy to convert the 10 polytechnics in the country into fully fledged technical universities is in fulfillment of its 2012 manifesto promise.

This has been hailed by the Polytechnic Teachers Association of Ghana (POTAG), but some educationists still hold a different view in the expected impact.

In line with the Technical Universities Act 2016 (Act 922) passed by Parliament on August 4, 2016, Prof Naana Agyemang in the statement issued on Monday, asked the National Council for Tertiary Education (NCTE) to expedite action on the conversion.

“Kindly communicate the executive approval to Cape Coast and Tamale Polytechnics and take necessary steps to ensure a smooth and orderly transfer of all eight (8) polytechnics,” the Minister said.

Besides the bold step to enhance technical education, the NDC government has built two major public universities, University of Health and Allied Sciences in the Volta region and the University of Energy and Natural Resources in the Brong Ahafo region.

The Mahama-led administration is also establishing a new public University in the Eastern Region to complete the NDC's vision of providing a public University campus in every region of the country and also to expand academic and residential facilities on existing campuses
Source: Peacefmonline

Comments ( 1 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video