Local News :

Home   >   News   >   General News   >   201810
GJA Awards: Ofori Sarpong, Osei Kwame Honoured....UTV, Peace FM, Hello FM Reign Supreme   
  << Prev  |  
Comments ( 5 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The much anticipated 23rd Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) awards was held today, October 27, 2018 at the Gold Coast Kempinski Hotel.

Professor Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu was chair for the 23rd edition of the awards. The theme for the 23rd GJA Awards was  “State of Investigative journalism: Boundaries of privacy and borders of the public interest.”

Apart from the journalists who were awarded, some media houses and citizens who have distinguished themselves were also recognised.

Two media portfolio’s of the Despite Group, Peace FM and UTV were adjudged the Best Radio and Television stations in Ghana respectively.

The two beat off competition from several radio and television stations in the country including those belonging to some notable media groups.

The announcement of the stations which are specialised in local language (Twi) broadcast did not come as a surprise to media watchers as they have become stations to beat in Ghana.

Additionally, Despite Group's Dan Kweku Yeboah took home the Sports Journalist of the Year – Radio award.

PeaceFM's Nana Yaa Konadu, host of "Mpo Mo Te S3n", won the award for Best Health Report (Radio).

Another station from the stable of the Despite Media Group, Hello FM, picked up two awards on the night; Best Rural Radio Station and Best Radio Station in the Ashanti region.

The GJA also conferred honorary awards on some personalities who have contributed immensely to the growth of the media industry.

Dr. Nana Osei Kwame "Despite", Dr Ernest Ofori Sarpong, Samuel Amo Tobbin, Papa Kwesi Nduom, Kwasi Twum and Commissioner of Police (COP) George A. Dampare, were the recipients.

A total of 36 reporters were shortlisted from 548 entries, for their outstanding reportage in 2017.

The winners, according to the 7-member Awards Committee headed by Doris Dartey, were selected based on accuracy, balance, potential impact of the story, background, ethical standards, initiative, and language presentation.

Proud winners on the night: Nana Yaa Konadu and Dan Kweku Yeboah
Ultimate Prize

37-year old Bernard Koku Avle of CitiFM, was adjudged the 2017 PAV Journalist of the Year after he was deemed outstanding for his efforts in the year under review.

The station's morning show, the Citi Breakfast Show, also won the Best Radio Morning Show Programme. 

Bernard, host of the CitiFM award-winning Citi Breakfast show, took home a cash prize, a three bedroom house, as well as an SUV.

The ultimate prize has therefore now moved from one talk show host to another as Bernard Avle takes over from Peace FM compatriot Kwami Sefa Kayi who won the award for 2016.

Mr. Avle who joined the station as a 23-year old, thanked the owner of Citi FM, Samuel Atta-Mensah, for giving him an opportunity to make his mark.

2017 GJA Award Winners 

Journalist of the Year 2017 - Bernard Koku Avle (Citi FM)

Most Promising Journalist of the Year - Alice Aryitey (GhOne TV)

News Reporting (Print) - Severious Kale-Dery (Daily Graphic)

Best Sports Reporter (TV) - Saddick Adams (Atinka TV)

Features (Radio) - Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy FM) 

Features (TV) - Peggy Ama Donkor (GTV)

Investigative Reporting - Stanley Nii Blewu (TV3)

Maritime - Grace Nana Esi Boateng (Oman FM)

Education - Peter Quao Adator (TV3)

News Reporting (Electronic) - Peter Quao Adator (TV3)

Domestic Tourism (Print) - Charles Andoh (The Mirror)

Features (Print) - Rebecca Quaicoe-Duho (Daily Graphic)

Environment (Electronic) - Portia Gabor (TV3)

Human Rights (Print) - Samuel Adadi Akapule (Ghanaian Times)

Sports Journalist (Radio) - Dan Kwaku Yeboah (Peace FM)

Best Newspaper - Daily Graphic 

Best Radio Station - Peace FM

Human Rights (Child Protection - TV) - Ernest Manu (Joy Mews) 

Human Rights (Child Protection- Radio) - Rebecca Ekpe (GBC Radio)

Best TV station - UTV

Best Layout & Designed Newspaper - Daily Graphic 

Agriculture (Print) - Ama Amankwaah Baafi (Graphic Business)

Best Photojournalist - David Andoh (Myjoyonline)

Best Health Report (Radio) - Nana Yaa Konadu (Peace FM) 

Best Health Report (Print) - Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic)

Domestic Tourism (TV) - UTV

Oil and Gas - Moses Dotse Aklorbortu (Daily Graphic)

Best Digital Journalism - GNA 

Small and Medium Enterprises - Christian Akorli (GNA)

Business Finance and Economic Reporting - Suleiman Mustapha (Daily Graphic) 

Best Morning Show (Radio) - Citi FM Breakfast Show

Best Morning Show (TV) - Good Morning Ghana (Metro TV)

Best Report in Health (TV) - Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News) 

Best Rural (Electronic) - Joojo Cobinnah (Joy News)

Best Rural Reporting (Print) - David Kodjo-Asinesi

Mining (Print) - Gabriel Ahiabor (Daily Graphic)

Mining (Electronic) - Kwasi Anum

Sanitation and Hygiene - Caesar Abagali (GNA)

Best WASH - Justice Adoboe (Xinhua News Agency)

Best Programme (TV - Akan) - Di Asa (Atinka TV)

Best Development Journalism - Timothy Ngnenbe (Daily Graphic)

Best in Disability Reporting (Electronic) - Alice Aryitey (GhOne TV)

Best Development Journalism (Electronic) - Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman (GhOne)

Best HIV AIDS Reporter - Linda Tenya Ayettey (Daily Guide) 

Best Transport and Road Safety - Severious Kale-Dery and Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)

Environment (Print) - Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)

Agriculture (Electronic) - Joseph Opoku Gakpo (Joy News)

Best Female Journalist - Jamila Akweley Okertchiri (Daily Guide)

Best Cartoonist - Akosua (Daily Guide)

Democracy and Peace Building - UTV

Best Crime and Court Reporting- Joyce Danso (GNA)

Disability (Print) - Emmanuel Adu-Gyamerah (Daily Graphic)

Anti-Galamsey - Kojo Agyemang, Latif Iddrisu, Godwin Arthur, Stephen Kwaku Fosu, Timothy Ngnenbe, Joyce Gyekye.

Best Rural Radio Station

Ashanti- Hello FM

Greater Accra - Obonu 

Brong Ahafo - Moonlight Radio 

Eastern - Agoo FM

Western - West End Radio

Central - Radio Central 

Upper West - Radio Wa

Northern - Zaa FM

Volta - Kekeli
Source: Rebecca Addo Tetteh/Peacefmonline.com

Comments ( 5 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.