Local News :

Home   >   News   >   Science & Environment   >   201404
'Blood Moon' Eclipse Seen Over America
 
<< Prev  |  Next >>
 
15-Apr-2014  
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
       
 
 
 
 
 
Related Stories
 
Skywatchers in the Americas have caught a rare celestial show caused by the Earth's shadow falling across the Moon.

The Moon changed colour from orange to blood red or brown in a total lunar eclipse.

The total lunar eclipse unfolded over three hours as the Moon moved into the Earth's shadow.

From 08:06 BST (07:06 GMT) our planet's natural satellite was fully eclipsed for more than 75 minutes and shrouded in a reddish glow.

Observers in north-west Africa and the eastern half of South America were able to see part of the eclipse, but missed some stages because they occurred after moonset.

The moment of greatest eclipse occurred at 08:45 BST (07:45 GMT).

Three further eclipses will occur during 2014: an annular solar eclipse on 29 April, a total lunar eclipse on 8 October and a partial solar eclipse on 23 October.
 
 
 
Source: BBC
 
 

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

 
 
 
Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.