Local News :

Home   >   News   >   Social   >   201702   >   List Of Regional Council of State Representatives
List Of Regional Council of State Representatives
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( )    Email    Print
Related Stories
Elections for regional representatives to serve on the Council of State took place on Thursday across the country. Two representatives each from the 216 metropolitan, municipal and district assemblies, constituted the electoral college which elected the various regional representatives to the Council of State.

Over 100 aspirants contested for a place on the Council, which is enjoined by the 1992 Constitution to counsel the President in the performance of his functions. The election nationwide, largely came off without hitches, except in the Upper East Region, where voting commenced late after confusion had erupted over a lawsuit against the process.

The elected regional representatives are:

*Eunice Jacqueline Buah, Western Region
*Kwadwo Agyenim Boateng, Brong Ahafo Region
*Yakubu S. Nantogmah, Northern Region
*Agona Akrofosohene Nana Owusu Achiaw, Ashanti Region
*Richard Babini Kanton IV, Upper West Region
*Dr. Nii Kotei Dzani, Greater Accra Region
*Robert D. Mosore, Upper East Region
*Obrempong Appiah Nuamah II, Central Region
*Francis Albert Seth Nyonyo, Volta Region
*Nana Somuah Mireku- Nyampong, Eastern Region

Prior to the election of the regional representatives, President Nana Akufo-Addo appointed 11 persons to the Council of State including former Metropolitan Chief Executive of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly, Stanley Nii Adjiri Blankson and a former President of the Ghana Bar Association, Sam Okudzeto.

The eight other appointees are: the Jaubenhene Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Nana Kofi Obiri Egyir II, Mrs. Alberta Cudjoe, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Dr. Margaret Amoakohene, Alhaji Sahanun Moqtar, Mrs. Georgina Kusi, Alhaji Sule Yiremiah and Mr. Paa Kofi Ansong.

President Akufo-Addo also appointed General J.B. Danquah, a former Chief of Defence Staff of the Armed Forces, and Nana Owusu Nsiah, a former Inspector General of Police, to the Council pending Parliamentary approval.

The President of the National House of Chiefs, Togbe Afede XIV, is also an ex-officio a member of the Council, in line with Article 89(2)(a)(i) of the constitution. The Constitution also dictates there must be former Chief Justice on the council but there is no living former Chief Justice, thus President Akufo-Addo was unable to propose a name for the approval of Parliament.
Source: citifmonline.com

Comments ( ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.