Home   >   Politics   >   Elections   >   201401
NPP retains incumbent chairman for Upper West
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
Alhaji Abdul-Rahman Abubakar alias Alhaji Short, has been retained as the Regional Chairman for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Upper West Region.

He polled 103 votes out of the 206 delegates that took part in the election conducted by the Electoral Commission.

His co-competitors, Mr Ishak Gaaba Dapilaa polled 39 votes while Alhaji Toyiba Mahama garnered 63 votes.

For the Regional First Vice Chairman, Mr Hafiz Bin-Salih won the position by obtaining 92 votes as against 13 for Elias Abdulai Safana, 44 for Eddy K. Tizzala and 57 for Cletus Aapengnuo.

Madam Hyacintha Gyang Abatu polled 127 votes to beat her only competitor, Abubakari Bawa who obtained 79 votes.

For the Regional Secretary position, Baligi Bright Yelviel-Dong won by obtaining 120 votes as against seven votes for Tengan Onassis and 78 for Stephen Yir-Eru Engmen.

Assistant Regional Secretary position went to Mr Mumuni Bawa Seidu, who swept 141 of the total ballots casts to beat his only competitor Abdul-Fatawu Ishak-Kutia, who got 65 votes.

Mr Seidu I. Suleman polled 81 votes to beat his four other competitors, Mr Bakpanla Abraham, Mr Obed K. Fachu, Mr Braimah Alhassan Kantong and Angaamwine Salifu Siita.

Mrs Katherine T. Lankono polled 107 of the ballots to clinch unto the Regional Womens Organiser position over her competitors Mustapha Maishata Bomison, who managed 25 votes while Nnaa Meiri Yakubu got 74.

Mustapha J. Dimah won the Regional Youth Organiser position with a massive 117 votes.

Tanko Daniel Dauda won the Regional Treasurer Position convincingly with a commanding lead of 139 votes as against the 67 votes polled by his only competitor Abdulai Abdul-Karim.
The Regional Nasara Co-ordinator position was won by Osman T. Mohammed who polled nine votes as against two votes by his only competitor Yahaya Konnathe.

Alhaji Abubakar thanked the delegates for re-electing him as their Chairman and promised to work with all to claim victory for the party in 2016.

Brigadier General Joseph Odei (Rtd), Member of the NPP National Electoral Committee thanked the candidates for the peaceful manner in which they conducted their campaigns, which according to him translated into the successful election process.

He urged the party supporters and members to forge ahead in unity in order that they become a formidable team that would lead the NPP to victory not only in the region but the country as a whole.

Alhaji, Mohammed Abdul-Haq, Regional Election Committee Chairman appealed to the winning candidates to jubilate in moderation and avoid engaging in acts that would bring disunity to the party.
Source: GNA

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.