Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   200908
2012 Elections: Mike Ocquaye, Boakye Agyarko Out
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Mike Ocquaye and Boakye Agyarko of the New Patriotic Party
Related Stories
Two former NPP Presidential Aspirants have hinted to Peace FM News, that they will not contest the party’s flagbearership in the 2012 elections.

Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament and MP for Dome Kwabenya and former Vice President, Bank of New York, Mr. Boakye Agyarko, made the disclosure in an interview with Peacefmonline, moments after a constitutional amendment, paved way for the approval of only 5 people to contest the Presidential slot of the NPP in 2012.

It would be recalled that 17 Presidential Aspirants put forward their names to lead the party during last year’s congress by the NPP, a situation, some analysts say, contributed largely to the defeat of the NPP in the 2008 General Elections.

Assigning reasons for their decision, Mr Boakye Agyako said “I have a new vision for my role in the party, and I would not want to smash it up with a presidential ambition yet.” “This (decision) will not end my political ambition, but will ginger me up for any presidential aspiration but definitely not 2012,” he added.

Prof. Mike Ocquaye on his part highlighted the need for the party to have a sizeable number of contestants to compete for the position of flagbearer.
According to him, he will not contest again because, during the last congress, “so much money was spent by the party in organizing polls for all the 17 Presidential Aspirants.”
Source: peacefmonline

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.