Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201106
Akufo-Addo Picks Team 2012
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has formed a national campaign team for the 2012 general elections, with key party figures joining the presidential candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, to spread the party’s messages across the country.

The campaign structure would be headed by an advisory board chaired by former President John Agyekum Kufuor, with former Vice President Alhaji Aliu Mahama as a member.

The advisory board was inaugurated at the party’s headquarters on Wednesday while the campaign team was inaugurated yesterday.

Former flag-bearer aspirant Boakye Agyarko maintains his position as National Campaign Director, while the party’s former National Organizer, Lord Commey, is reported to have been appointed as Director of Operations. MP for Manhyia Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh has been appointed Director of Electoral Affairs and the Executive Chairman, and co-founder of Databank Financial Services Ken Ofori-Atta has been made the Director of Finance.

Daily Guide gathered that the former Deputy Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Gloria Akufo, becomes the Director of Legal Affairs, Ato Williams, a business tycoon, has been made the Director of Logistics and Victor Newman, the Director of Research.MP for Okaikwei South, Nana Akomea, is the Director of Communications, MP for Ayawaso West Wuogon, Akosua Frema Opare Osei is the Director for Conflict Resolution and Prof. Yaw Twumasi is in charge of the Manifesto Directorate.

Reports say all National Executive office holders including the National Nasara Co-ordinator, Abubakar Suleimana and the Director of Campaign Strategy, Dan Botwe are part of the National Campaign Committee.

Also in the team are the flagbearer himself, Nana AkufoAddo, the immediate past National Chairman, Peter Mac Manu and the Minority Leader in Parliament, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu.

Daily Guide has gathered that some nine other top guns were specifically nominated by Nana Akufo-Addo to be part of the team. He requested that his prospective running mate and his Campaign Manager should be part of the campaign team.

The Presidential Candidate’s nine nominees include the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Mike Oquaye, former flag-bearer aspirant Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen, MP for Subin Isaac Osei, former First Deputy Speaker of Parliament Freddie Blay, and former Minister for Women and Children’s Affairs Hajia Alima Mahama.

The rest are MP for Bantama Cecilia Dapaah, former Chief Executive of Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng, Beno Bismark and Olivia Quartey.

The national campaign team would be supported by various committees.

The names, about 35 in all, were endorsed by the party’s Steering Committee on Tuesday and approved by the party’s National Executive Committee (NEC) on Wednesday.
Source: Halifax Ansah-Addo and William Yaw Owusu

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.