Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201305
CPP MP Joins Majority Side   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The only Convention People's Party (CPP) Member of Parliament, Mr Amadu Moses Yahaya, has decided to join the Majority side and do business with them in Parliament.

In Parliament, MPs can either belong to the Majority or Minority sides and the new MP for Kumbungu after being sworn in, told journalists that he had chosen to do business with the Majority side.

Mr Yahaya won the Kumbungu seat, which became vacant after the incumbent, Alhaji Muhammed Mumuni, vacated the seat to take up an international appointment.

He polled 13,029, representing 51 per cent of the total votes cast to beat his closest challenger, Alhaji Imoro Yakubu Kakpagu of the NDC, who polled 11,896, representing 47.28 per cent of the total votes cast.9

His position is contrary to the one taken by the Chairperson of the party, Ms Samia Yaaba Nkrumah, who chose to belong to the Minority NPP side as the then CPP MP for Jomoro during the fifth Parliament of the Fourth Republic.

Mr Yahaya told journalists he chose to be with the Majority side after consultations with "a vast majority of my constituents at the grass roots".

Asked whether he had consulted the leadership of the CPP on his decision to join the Majority side, the MP, who seemed to be fumbling and evasive, stated that the leadership of the CPP would abide by the decision of the people of Kumbungu, who "have advised me to belong to the Majority side".

" I will, however, support policies which are in the interest of country and my constituents," he said.

Earlier, the Speaker of Parliament, Mr Edward Doe Adjaho, had sworn the new MP into office after which he was led to his seat.

The brief swearing-in ceremony was the first on the agenda of the first sitting of the Second Meeting of the Sixth Parliament of the Fourth Republic, which began yesterday.

The Speaker informed the House that he had been informed by the Electoral Commission (EC) through a Writ of Election about the victory of Mr Yahaya during the Kumbungu bye-election.

Mr Adjaho advised the new MP to be prepared to learn from the vast experience of some MPs to enable him to chart a good path towards his political career.

He asked him to represent the entire people of Kumbungu and not only those who voted for him during the bye-election.

On behalf of the Minority, the Minority Chief Whip, Mr Dan Botwe, said he was happy that the CPP had joined the NPP, PNC and the NDC in Parliament.

He appealed to the people of Kumbungu to give their MP the needed co-operation to enable him to succeed.

The Majority Leader, Dr Benjamin Kunbuor assured the new MP of co-operation from both sides of the House and asked him to be humble to learn from his senior colleagues.

Meanwhile, the NDC Member of Parliament for Banda in the Brong Ahafo Region, Mr Ibrahim Ahmed, has been appointed by the Majority as a Deputy Majority Whip.

He is replacing the MP for Bodi, Mr Sampson Ahi, who has been appointed as a Deputy Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing.

The Majority Leader informed the House about the decision by his side to replace Mr Ahi.
Source: Daily Graphic

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video