Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201408
You Can’t Get From Courts What You Did Not Get From People — Mahama
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
President John Dramani Mahama has stated that the Supreme Court ruling on the 2012 presidential election petition was a clear demonstration that the courts cannot be used by anyone to reap what he or she has not sown.

Commenting on the ruling yesterday, he said, “The Supreme Court ruling demonstrates the fact that you cannot get from the courts what you did not get from the people.”

Today was exactly one year when the Supreme Court, in a landmark ruling, validated the results of the 2012 presidential election, which declared President Mahama, the candidate for the National Democratic Congress (NDC), victorious.

And the President, who was swearing in two new envoys at the Flagstaff House, used the occasion to comment on the ruling.

The then New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) National Chairman, Mr Jake Obetsebi Lamptey, the 2012 Presidential candidate, Nana Akufo Addo, and the running mate to the party’s 2012 presidential candidate, Dr Mahamadu Bawumia, went to court challenging the Electoral Commission’s declaration of President Mahama as winner of the election.

The case travelled for eight months.


President Mahama said once the courts performed their work deligently, it was impossible to steal the sovereignty of the people

“The court ruling validated the view that sovereignty resides with the people.

“This is clearly stated in Article 1 of the 1992 Constitution,” the President said.

He hailed the Supreme Court for performing its work without blemish.

Fact Sheet

The results of the 2012 presidential election as declared by the Electoral Commission were as follows:-

John Dramani Mahama (NDC) 5,574,761 (50.7 per cent), Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (NPP) 5,248,898 (47.74 per cent) and Papa Kwesi Nduom (PPP) 64,362 (0.59 per cent).

Others are Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP) 38,223 (0.35 per cent), Akwasi Addai (UFP) 8,877 (0.08 per cent), Hassan Ayariga (PNC) 24,617 ( 0.22 %), Michael Abu Sakara Foster (CPP) 20,323 (0.18 per cent) and Jacob Yeboah Yeboah (Ind) 15,201 (0.12 per per cent).
Source: Daily Graphic

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.