Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201503
NPP Men Quit! …To Fight MPs   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
A number of persons holding positions in the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) have resigned their posts to contest in the upcoming parliamentary primaries of the party.

Nominations would be open today for the contest which is scheduled for May 24, 2015 across the country.

By last Friday evening, most of these individuals who were holding various positions at the regional, constituency and polling station levels of the party had tendered their resignation.

Key among them was the resignation of Kennedy Kankam as Ashanti Regional Organiser of the NPP to contest incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Nhyiaeso constituency alongside Stephen Amoah, popularly known as Sticker, who is also in the race for the seat.

The Oforikrom seat is also under siege as the constituency chairman, Dr Emmanuel Marfo, has resigned his position in a bid to unseat incumbent Elizabeth Agyemang during the upcoming primaries.

Others who have also resigned to contest the parliamentary primaries in the Ashanti Region are chairman for the Offinso South constituency for the same seat, the Communications Officer of Asawase constituency and the Deputy Youth Organiser for Manhyia, who is contesting for the constituency primaries in Tano South.

Brong Ahafo Regional Organiser, Ali Maiga, is contesting for the Dormaa West constituency primary of the party.

Others include the constituency chairman for Osu Klottey, Nii Noi Nortey, who has also resigned his position to slug it out with Lawyer Philip Addison of the ‘2012 Election Petition’ fame, for the party’s parliamentary primary in the next elections.

The constituency chairman for Ablekuma West, Theophilus Tettey, has also resigned to contest Ursula Owusu Ekuful for her position alongside one Roni Kwesi Nicol, who has declared his intention to contest for the seat.

As it stands now, the constituency seems to be divided, with Ursula and her group on one side and the constituency on the other side.

At New Juaben South constituency in the Eastern Region, the constituency Vice chairman, Michael Kofi Okyere-Baafi, has resigned his position to contest incumbent Dr Mark Assibey-Yeboah.

Two persons have also resigned in the Adenta constituency to contest in the upcoming parliamentary primaries.

They include Wilson Marfo Kpakpladja, who has resigned his position as Assistant Secretary to enable him contest for the Krachi-Nchumuru seat, which is currently occupied by John Majisi of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Polling Station Secretary, Morgan Adzatia Newlove, has also resigned to contest for the Adenta seat which is currently held by the NDC’s Emmanuel Nii Ashie Moore.

Deputy Ashanti Regional Secretary of the NPP, Manaf Ibrahim, has stepped down to enable him contest for the Asawase constituency primary.


At its meeting on Monday April 23, 2015, the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the NPP approved the road map towards the organisation of its parliamentary primary elections as mandated by the party’s constitution, with the timeline as follows: opening of nominations – March 30, 2015; closing  of nominations – April 10, 2015; vetting of aspirants – April 13 to 17, 2015; announcement of vetting results – April 20, 2015; appeals at regional level if any – April 20 to 24, 2015; appeals at national level if any – April 24 to 30, 2015; notice of poll – April 24,  2015; and election day – May 24, 2015.

It also approved the following as both filing and development fees which are to be paid by the parliamentary aspirants: Each parliamentary aspirant in orphan constituencies will pay a filing fee of GH¢10,000, while each sitting Member of Parliament seeking re-election will also cough out a filing fee of GH¢10,000. Each parliamentary aspirant in constituencies with sitting NPP Members of Parliament will be paying a filing fee of GH¢10,000 plus a development fee of GH¢20,000.

It was agreed that the following categories of persons shall be given 50% rebate on both the filling and development fees: women, youth and people with disability.

The National Executive Committee has authorised the General-Secretary, in consultation with the regional party, to vary election dates as deemed appropriate.

The National Council of the party would today meet to firm up a decision to allow only female aspirants to contest the 16 female Members of Parliament in their respective constituencies.

The decision has since generated a huge furore, compelling leadership to take a second look at it.

Another issue which seems to be generating some controversy is the party’s decision that the following coastal constituencies in the Greater Accra Region should be contested by Ga indigenes except in exceptional circumstances: Ngleshie Amanfrom, Ablekuma South, Odododiodio, Korle Klottey, La Dade Kotopon, Ledzokuku, Krowor, Tema East, Tema West, Kpone Katamanso, Amasaman and Obom Domeabra.

Source: Charles Takyi-Boadu/Daily Guide

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video