Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201505
PPP Prepares To Win 5 Seats In Ashanti Region As It Elects Regional Executives   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The Ashanti Regional branch of the PPP held its regional elections on 9th May, 2015 at the Auditorium of the Kumasi Polytechnic in Kumasi.

The event was graced by the presence of National Chairman, Nii Allotey Brew Hammond, National Youth Coordinator Divine Nkrumah, Chairman of the Elections Committee, Deroy Kwesi Andrew and Director of Operations, Nana Ofori Owusu.

Addressing the members of the Party before the elections, the National Chairman declared that the Ashanti Region cannot continue to be the world bank of any single political party. He was of the view that Ghanaians are gradually becoming discerning and accepting policies and programmes instead of dogmatic stance on national issues.

The National Chairman declared that the PPP will do all in its powers to win at least 5 seats in Ashanti region in order to enable the party to hold the balance of Power in parliament.

Divine Nkrumah, the National Youth Coordinator also in his turn charged the youth to look nowhere else than the PPP as the party of hope. He stated that both current and past governments have failed the youth by not providing adequate jobs for them.

Today, people even have to beg to get places to do national service when they have completed school. Mr. Nkrumah said that the only party that is committed to the creation of employment for the youth is the PPP.

Also present was the current Central regional Communication Director who is contesting for the office of National Treasurer in the party. On his Part, Mr. Sunday Agyekum Atara told the delegates that the PPP has the best policies and the best candidates and so they should not find it difficult to sell their products to voters at all.

The Ashanti Regional Electoral Commission finally took over the event and conducted the polls to select the next regional executives for the region. The Position of the Vice Chairman was won by Mr. Hunsunih Hamsah against Nana Agyenim Boateng and Rephael Brobbey.

That of the treasure was also carried by Mr. Issace Prah against Yaya Alhassan. Peter Aboagye won Assistant Secretary as Haruna Bashiru also won the Youth Organiser Poition. Mr. Osei Nkrumah also managed to win the position of the Education Secretary.


Below is the detailed result of the elections.


Source: Chris Joe Quaicoe/ email: [email protected]

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video