Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201511
NDC Rejects Yamoah Ponkoh   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The Ejisu constituency chairman of the ruling National Democratic Congress ( NDC) in the Ashanti Region, Eugene Agyarko, is kicking against the re-appointment of Afrifa Yamoah Ponkoh as the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for Ejisu Juaben.

According to him, any attempt to re-appoint Ponkoh will have dire consequences on the party in the 2016 general elections.

The NDC executives in July this year forced the MCE to leave his office after he had refused to hand over when a letter to that effect had been sent to the assembly from the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development.

Speaking to Ultimate Fm, Mr Eugene Agyarko said the party executives in the area were not in favour of his re-appointment.

“He is not my favourite,” Agyarko said. “He made the party suffer when we gave him the mandate. I don’t want him to come again.

“All my party members have told me why he is being appointed again, but I told them I need confirmation from the minister… I have nothing to do because I respect my president.”


President John Mahama recently nominated some Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives (MMDCEs).

The nominees are: Paul Kingsley Averu Aweh for the Asante Akyem North District Assembly; Yussif Haruna, Offinso South Municipal Assembly; Emmanuel Williams Amoako Sekyere, Kumawu District Assembly; Kwadwo Adei, Sekyere East District Assembly and Kwaku Afrifa Yamoah Ponkoh for the Ejisu-Juaben Municipal Assembly – all in the Ashanti Region.

Others include: Francis Kofi Ayikwei Tagoe for Effutu Municipal Assembly and Moses Jehu Appiah, Gomoa East District Assembly in the Central Region.

The rest are: George Mensah Akpalu for the West Akim Municipal Assembly; Ben Ohene Ayeh, Nsawam Adoagyiri Municipal Assembly and Kwabena Okyere Kusi for the New Juaben Municipal Assembly in the Eastern Region.

The president also nominated Casmir Rockson Addo-Mensah for the Biakoye District Assembly and Peter Worlanyo Abomah for the Hohoe Municipal Assembly in the Volta Region.
Source: Daily Guide

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video