Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201805
Mampong Municipal Assembly Swears In New Presiding Member   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Hon Solomon Nyantakyi(Presiding Member)Flanked By Hon Thomas Appiah Kubi And A Friend.
Related Stories
Hon. Solomon Nyantakyi, Assembly member for Bosofour electoral area has been sworn in as the new presiding member for the Mampong Municipal Assembly.

The visibly elated new Presiding Member who has been organizing free vacation classes and free mock exams for students in his electoral area for the past three years was sworn in by His Lordship Godwin Kpogli from the District Magistrate Court on 24th April 2018 at the Municipal Assembly hall.

The swearing in ceremony took place at the general assembly meeting where the Municipal Chief Executive, Hon Thomas Appiah Kubi, new Coordinating Director, Mr Joseph Acquaye Derben, Hon. Assembly members, Heads of Department and members of the press were all present.

Hon. Nyantakyi who now ceases to be the convener for Finance and Administration sub committee of the municipal assembly as a result of his election to the high office of a presiding member expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the Municipal Chief Executive, Hon Assembly members, traditional leaders and the staff of the assembly for their confidence in him.

The new presiding member who is in his 2nd term as asembly member called for total support from the house noting that it was through unity and oneness of purpose that they could realize the needed development they all expected in their electoral areas. 

“My elevation to this office as a presiding member is a victory for all, unity is strength, and my office is open to all for suggestions and discussions at any time”, he stated.

The Municipal Chief Executive, Hon Thomas Appiah Kubi used the occasion to wish the new presiding member well and assured him of his total support.

He reiterated Hon. Solomon Nyantakyi’s call for unity and oneness of purpose to move forward as a municipal assembly.

It would be recalled that on 29th December 2017, the general assembly met to elect a presiding member to replace Hon. Joseph Addo whose tenure of office had ended.

It was a keenly contested election between Hon. Solomon Nyantakyi and Hon. Stephen Asamoah, assembly member for Pampaso Electoral Area, Benim. At the end of the voting none of the candidates was able to emerge winner as required votes needed for the position could not be secured by the candidates.

On 20th March 2018, the assembly held another meeting to elect the presiding member for the second time, Hon. Stephen Boateng stepped down for Hon Solomon Nyantakyi to go unopposed for the position of the presiding member.

The Electoral commissioner, Mr Todemeho Misinu who was there to ensure free and fair election said though one of the contestants had stepped down, voting must still go on to determine whether the assembly members wanted Solomon Nyantakyi to be the Presiding Member or not; hence they should vote yes or no.

At the end of the voting forty three (43) people voted yes and one person voted no; and one ballot paper was rejected.  This indicated that Hon. Nyantakyi was voted YES to become the Presiding Member.

Source: Emmanuel Boakye Ansah/Municipal Informaion Officer, Mampong-Ashanti

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video