Home   >   Showbiz   >   Radio/TV   >   201610

Despite Group Sweeps 10 Awards At RTP Awards 2016
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 2 )     Email    Print
Roger Quartey
Related Stories
Despite Group last Saturday scooped 10 prestigious awards at the 2016 edition of the Radio & Television Personality (RTP) Awards.

The sixth edition of the awards which came off at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC) was organised by Big Event Ghana to reward personalities who have over the years contributed immensely towards the development of radio and television in Ghana.

The awards ceremony was hosted by former Big Brother Africa star and comedian, DKB.

The Best Mobile DJ at the 2014 Ghana DJ Awards, Dii Jay Foe, who was the official DJ for the night, controlled the turntables and his fine music selection kept the auditorium alive.

Shatta Wale, Okomofo Kwadee, e-shun and SP Sarpong who thrilled fans at the event did not disappoint the audience.

Peace FM, Okay FM, Hello FM and UTV all picked up awards at the event which attracted a large number of radio, television personalities as well as industry stakeholders and music fans.

Peace FM’s news at 6:00pm won the Radio News Programme of The Year, while Peace FM’s Kokrokoo won the Radio Morning Show of The Year.

The host of Peace FM’s popular talk show programme, Asomdwe Nkomo (Wohaw Nesen), Nana Yaa Konadu, also took home the Radio Development Show Host of The Year.

Abeiku Santana, host of Okay FM’s drive time was adjudged the Radio Late Afternoon Show Host of The Year. Kumasi-based Hello FM’s news reporter, Sampson K. Nyamekye, also grabbed the Best Radio Personality, Ashanti Region.

Adjoa Yeboa Adjei, a presenter on UTV, walked home with the Best TV Development Show Host of The Year,while UTV’s morning show, Adekye Nsroma, grabbed the Best Television Morning Show of The Year.

A popular local television series on UTV, Cow & Chicken, won TV Local Series of The Year. The Media Group of The Year 2016 also went to Despite Group.

There were three honorary awards for Excellence in Radio Management, and the honorees were Samuel Attah Mensah (Citi FM), Ekyi Quarm (Multimedia Group) and Fada Dickson (Despite Media Group).

Meanwhile, the host of Fire For Fire on Adom TV and Asempa FM, Patrick Osei-Agyemang, popularly known as Countryman Songo, was adjudged the Personality of The Year.

Comments ( 2 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.