Home   >   Sports   >   General Sports   >   201110

Prof. Dodoo Is New GOC Chief   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
The new executives of GOC
Related Stories
After close to 20 hours of power struggle in the elective General Assembly of the Ghana Olympic Committee (GOC), Professor Francis Dodoo emerged the president of the committee in the early hours of Sunday.

And for the next four years, 51-year-old Dodoo, who is also the president of Ghana Athletics Association (GAA) will succeed Benson Tongo Baba, who has been in charge over a decade.

Dodoo assumed the GOC seat, having polled 38 votes. His competitors, who were not around when the election was conducted, Kojo Adu-Asare and Emile Missodey, polled two and zero respectively.

A streak of disagreements on nomination filing, eligibility of the BT Baba led board, statement of account, among others characterized the marathon General Assembly.

The Association of National Olympic Committee of Africa (ANOCA) 2nd Vice-President Joao Manuel Da Costa Alegre Afonso, the international observer, backed by the International Olympic Committee(IOC) had to boycott the General Assembly after both parties failed to come to a consensus.

Earlier, the international observer had threatened to leave midway on the same grounds but some officials convinced him to stay and supervise proceedings but that was short lived.

He succeeded in leaving finally for his hotel when tempers of delegates hit roof top. He walked hurriedly down stairs with his brief case and after granting interview to the press on the consequences should he leave the country without Congress in a black VW salon car.

His departure compelled the dissolved GOC executive to follow suit in protest. But the Professor Dodoo group tarried in anticipation of Afonso’s return.

Before the second coming of Afonso at 10.38pm, the General Assembly resolved that due to the vacuum created by the dissolution of the out gone GOC Executive Board to pave way for election, a three-member elections committee comprising Hon Nii Tackie Kommey, chairman, Ambassador Ray Quarcoo and Mawuko Afadzinu were installed to take nominations and organize the elections.

Afonso a native of Sao Tome and Principe, revealed to the Assembly that his return was motivated by the response, having discussed what transpired with the Presidents of IOC and ANOCA, who supported the idea that the General Assembly is the final authority.

It was further resolved by the General Assembly that the electoral commission supervises the said elections and declare results on congress grounds.

Later Congress agreed unanimously on fresh nomination in addition to the earlier ones to make way for voting.

Dr Deborah Cubagee polled 39 votes against one by Frank Appiah to win the first vice president position and none for Sam Pee Yalley with Nii Adote Din Barima beating Elizabeth King by 36 to three for the Second Vice Chairman post.

The third vice chairman went to Nestor Galley, while Richard Akpokavie emerged the Secretary General after polling 38 votes against two for Mohamed Sahnoon.

Reverend Richmond Quarcoo was elected Assistant Secretary General after polling 39 votes and none for Alhaji Ibrahim Gado.

Ben Nunoo-Mensah’s 38 votes earned him the treasurer seat with no votes for his competitor, Johnson Clifford Aboagye, while Hajia Zinabu Mahama, with 37 votes got the nod for Assistant Treasurer. Saka Acquaye got three votes and Angelina Ocran got none.

Colonel John Sharpe (rtd), Ken Dzirasah and Francis Adjetey Sowah got the nod as the three Executive members. Sharpe managed 45 votes, Dzirasah, 43 and Adjetey 41 against none for Solomon Ofei Darko and Patience Yeboah.

David Addo Ashong, Chris Essilfie, Felix Frimpong, Ken Arthur and Frank Awuku, who were elected unopposed for the representatives of International Federations in Olympics .

Wing Commander Arko Dadzie recorded 23 votes against Nana Owusu Ansah’s 16 as the member from the non-Olympic Sport, while Lieutenant Colonel Maxwell Bediako was elected unopposed as the member from affiliated associations.

It was Wolanyo K. Agra, Director General of the National Sports Authority that swore the new executives into Office.

Source: Kofi Owusu Aduonum

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.