Home   >   Sports   >   Football/Soccer   >   201210

Shortlists For FIFA Ballon dOr Gala 2012; Drogba & Yaya Toure Only Africans Present
<< Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Yaya Toure(L) and Didier Drogba(R): Only Africans on the list
Related Stories
Four days after announcing the names of the candidates for the FIFA Womens World Player of the Year and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Womens Football for 2012 awards, FIFA and France Football have today revealed the names for the mens awards.

The candidates for the FIFA Ballon dOr and for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Mens Football awards have been unveiled (see below). The final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of the mens national teams as well as by international media representatives selected by France Football.

The winners of all of the awards will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon dOr gala as part of a televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 7 January 2013, during which the FIFA FIFPro World XI, the FIFA Pusks Award for the most beautiful goal of the year the FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented.

The list of 23 male candidates has been drawn up by football experts from the FIFA Football Committee and by a group of experts from France Football. The list of ten coaches has been drawn up by the Committee for Womens Football and FIFA Womens World Cup and by the FIFA Football Committee, as well as by a group of experts from France Football.

On 29 November 2012, FIFA and France Football will announce at a press conference in So Paulo (Brazil) the names of the three men and three women, as well as the three coaches for womens football and three coaches for mens football, who have received the most votes (without unveiling the winners). The three nominees for the FIFA Pusks Award and the FIFA FIFPro World XI shortlist for the best forwards will also be announced (the shortlists for best goalkeepers, defenders and midfielders will be unveiled on 19, 22 and 26 November, respectively).


Mens Shortlists For The FIFA Ballon dOr Gala 2012

Lionel Messi: Current holder
The following 23 men (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the FIFA Ballon dOr 2012:

Sergio Agero (Argentina), Xabi Alonso (Spain),Mario Balotelli (Italy), Karim Benzema (France), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Sergio Busquets (Spain), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Cte dIvoire), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden), Andrs Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut zil (Germany), Gerard Piqu (Spain), Andrea Pirlo (Italy),
Sergio Ramos (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Yaya Tour (Cte dIvoire), Robin van Persie (Netherlands), Xavi (Spain).

The following ten coaches (in alphabetical order, first nationality and then team) are in contention for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Mens Football 2012:

Vicente del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Roberto Di Matteo (Italy/Chelsea FC), Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Barcelona former coach),
Jupp Heynckes (Germany/FC Bayern Mnchen), Jrgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim Lw (Germany/Germany national team), Roberto Mancini (Italy/Manchester City FC), Jos Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid CF), Cesare Prandelli (Italy/Italy national team).
Source: FIFA

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.