Government Inaugurates Committee On Technical Universities

Government has inaugurated an eight member Technical Committee to work out modalities and plans to convert Polytechnics into Technical Universities.

The Committee is chaired by Dr George Afeti of the National Inspectorate Board and a former Rector of Ho Polytechnic.

Performing the inauguration, Deputy Minister in Charge of Tertiary Education, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa appealed to members to make far reaching recommendations which will stand the test of time and ultimately be in Ghana's development interest.

He said Polytechnic education ought not be regarded as second option and stressed that the practical technical education which Polytechnics offer has a special place in the development vision of Ghana.

Polytechnics were upgraded to tertiary institutions in 1992 under the Polytechnic Law (PNDCL 32).

The Polytechnic Act, 2007(Act 745) which repealed the Polytechnic Law, 1992, mandates polytechnics to provide tertiary education in the fields of manufacturing, commerce, science, technology, applied social science, applied arts and any other field approved by the Minister and provide opportunities for skills development, allied research and publication research findings.

During the 2012 electioneering campaign, President Mahama pledged to convert all polytechnics into degree awarding Technical Universities.