NPP Super Delegates Congress: Voting Ends In Upper East And Central Regions

Voting has ended in two regions in the on-going New Patriotic Party [NPP] Super Delegates Congress to trim down presidential aspirants from seven to five, in line with the party’s constitution. The nationwide delegates’ Congress is supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC) with support from the NPP’s National Elections Committee Peace FM reporters at both regions noted that, voting procedure was calm at the VAG Hall in the Upper East Region and at Pampanasie Hotel where the elections were held in Cape Coast, Central Region. The seven aspirants contesting to lead the NPP in the 2016 presidential polls are two-time presidential candidate of the NPP, Nana Akufo-Addo, former Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kyeremanten, second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joe Ghartey, former Minister of State, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, former Information Minister, Stephen Asamoah Boateng, MPs, Kofi Osei Ameyaw and Francis Addai Nimoh. However, according to the party’s leadership, the polls will be closed at 3pm followed by the declaration of results at the party headquarters.