Exchange Of Blows Mar NPP Primary In Wa

A free-for-all fight in the Wa Central Constituency in the Upper West Region nearly marred the peaceful conduct of the New Patrioty Party (NPP) parliamentary primary held at Wa last Saturday.

Some youth, who argued that some of their colleagues were being disenfranchised, engaged police officers in physical confrontation.

According to them, the constituency chairman, Mr. Ali Karim Kamara prevented some delegates from voting. One of the delegates was said to have slapped the chairman for stopping him from voting and the chairman retaliated with a blow.

The brutal confrontation, which lasted well over 45minutes, needed the intervention of the Upper West Regional Police Commander, DCOP Kwasi Mensah Duku, to resolve the problem.

Meanwhile The Party’s parliamentary candidate for the constituency in the 2012 general elections, Issahaku Moomin Tahiru, has been retained by delegates once again after a hot contest for the slot.

Mr. Tahiru polled 313 votes from 642 valid votes cast in the race that featured five candidates. His closest challenger, Osman Hamid, polled 171 votes, while Janet Bibii polled 143, Haadi Bawa 13 and Mahama Issahaku polled 2 votes.

In the Lambussie Constituency, the former Regional Secretary of the party, Bright Baligi polled 243 votes to beat John Dough, who also polled 82, with Delle Stephen garnering 52 votes.

The former Parliamentary candidate for Sissala West, Mr. Patrick Adama, also retained his position with 235 votes, beating Alhassan Kanton, who polled 56, and the former Regional Minister, Hergest Hikah Benson, who got 45 votes.

The former National Youth Organizer, Anthony Karbo won a landslide victory in the Lawra race when he polled 355 votes as against Joseph Dontaa’s 63 ones. In Wa East, Bayon Godfrey Tangu clinched the slot with 316 votes; Yakubu Salifu got 164, with former Deputy Regional Minister, Daud Ahmed Hudeen trailing with 30 votes.

In Sissala East, Ridwan Abass won the two-man race with 232 votes, beating Hamidu Chinie, who polled 191 votes. The NPP occupies none of the 11 parliamentary seats in the Upper West. The Regional, executives have meanwhile deferred nominations for the Nadowli-Kaleo constituency for strategic reasons.