Home   >   Business   >   Business News   >   201310
‘Invest in Ghana’ – Nigerian High Commissioner   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Nigerian High Commissioner (middle) with the ACN executives
Related Stories
The Nigerian High Commissioner to Ghana, Ademola Onafowokan has tasked newly-elected executives of the All Nigerian Community in Ghana (ANC) and all Nigerians to invest in Ghana’s economy.

The association, which held its first election a couple of weeks ago, on Tuesday inaugurated the 10 new executives despite earlier reports that some of its members had gone to court to seek for an injunction on the election.

Speaking at the swearing in ceremony at the Nigerian High Commission in Accra, Ademola Onafowokan tasked the executives and all Nigerians to invest in Ghana.

The recent election was the first to be organized by the Nigerian community in Ghana to elect its executives.

The Nigerian community also marked the 53rd Independence Anniversary of Nigeria on the same day.

“My fellow Nigerians in Ghana should ensure that they pay taxes. You should also do your businesses here, make your money and take your profits back home. But also, you need to invest in Ghana because this is the country that has given us the opportunity at this moment,” the High Commissioner stated.

Mr Onafowokan, who presented a cheque for $10,000 on behalf of the High Commission said, “I will want to urge you all to be very prudent, honest and most importantly transparent in your dealings with the Nigerian community as a whole and with yourselves. You have nobody to account to but to history and to Almighty God.”

“This is not about the Nigerian High Commission, this is not about the High Commissioner, this is not about the consulate desk in the High Commission it is about a Nigeria as a nation. What you did, you did for the glory of the fatherland and God Himself will reward you,” said the Onafowokan.

The executives, who are expected to serve a two-year term, are led by Owharo Moses Okeoghene Timothy as President; Surakat Lawal, 1st Vice President; Obiro Kizito Ikechukwu, 2nd Vice President; Sulley Umar Sarki, Treasurer; Umar Mohammed Rayyan, Welfare Secretary and Barry NwaihimNdu, Public Relations Officer.

Ndume Green, Okorie Louis Uchegbu, Enejoh Moses Agbene, Njom Joseph Nnanna are also the Secretary, Auditor, Financial Secretary and Provost respectively.
Source: Nii Ogbamey Tetteh/Daily Guide

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video