Home   >   Comment   >   Press Releases   >   201901

Concerned People Of Klottey Korle Rally For Nii Yeboah Ocquaye As The MCE   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 2 )     Email    Print
Nii Yeboah Ocquaye
Related Stories
We, the Concerned People of Klottey Korle, is a coalition of New Patriotic Party Youth Groups and Volunteers, Polling Station Executives, Opinion Leaders, Assemblymen, Osu Fishermen, Asafo Groups, Unit Committees, Traditional Authority Representatives from Osu and Adabraka.

First of all, we wish to congratulate His Excellency NANA ADDO DANKWA AKUFO ADDO, the President of the Republic of Ghana, the beautiful and hardworking first lady of the Republic, Mrs. Rebecca Akufo Addo, our mother and sister, the Rt. Hon. Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Michael Aaron Oquaye, our father, Chiefs, Traditional Leaders, Hon. Assemblymen of Klottey Korle Municipal Assembly, groups and all individuals who had contributed in diverse ways to the achievement of this Municipality. We say a very big thank you to all.

We also want to put on record the sterling work and attributes of one of our own in the final lap to the creation of the Klottey Korle Municipal Assembly.

This young man was horned and raised at Osu and has spent all his years at Osu. His passion for the development of Osu is boundless. Nii Yeboah Ocquaye attended Osu St. Barnabas Anglican School, a two minutes’ walk from where we have all gathered from nursery to middle Form Four.

For the past twenty(20) years he had selflessly volunteer his life to the Youth Empowerment Programs in the Community particularly in the area of education, promotion of skill training and a great passion and interest in other developmental issues of the community.

Nii Yeboah has over twenty five (25) years standing as a true and proud member of the New Patriotic Party. He is a loyal, committed and a dedicated hardworking member of the party. He is well known for his political activities and capacity to work across board. He has held many positions in the party. He is one of the leading member of the NPP Greater Accra V16 Group, a member of 2016 Greater Accra Election Monitoring Team (GAR MONITORS) and many other long years of serving positions in the Klottey Korle Constituency of the Party. He was NPP Polling station Chairman in Osu from the period of 1996 – 2018 at Nii We Agblanshie and Blogodo Gardens. During the 2000 elections, when the political temperature was very high and the NPP needed strongmen to volunteer in the Volta Region to protect the ballot, it was Samuel Nii Yeboah Ocquaye who organized and led a strong youth team from Osu to Volta Region to protect the ballot and fight for the course of the party. The group were arrested, humiliated and taken to Gonda barracks and back to the Police Headquarters and later went back to the Volta Region.

Ladies and gentlemen, Nii Yeboah is a graduate of the University of Ghana, Legon and holds a Masters in Emergency & Disaster Management from the University of Cape Coast. He is currently the Deputy Director in charge of Community Empowerment and Disaster Volunteer Groups at the headquarters of the National Disaster Management Organization (NADMO).

Nii Yebuah has deep knowledge of the inner workings of local governments. He was appointed as a member of Accra Sub-Metropolitan District Council in January 2002. He worked for eight years with the Ledzokuku Krowor Municipal Assembly (LEKMA) as Assistant Chief Disaster Control Officer and then head of Disaster Operations of the Municipality.

Metropolitan, Municipal, District Assemblies cannot work effectively to achieve the desired results without the active participation of the Chiefs and the Traditional Authorities of the area for which the Assembly has been created. The Office of the Administrator of the Stool Lands is mandated by the Article 267(2) of the 1992 Constitution and the Office of the Administrator of the Stool Lands Act 1994 (Act 481) to collect stool lands revenue and to distribute same to the beneficiaries. In section 8 of the Stool Lands' Law require that 10% of the revenue accruing from the stool lands shall be paid to the Office to cover administrative expenses; the remaining revenue shall be disbursed in the following proportion by the administrators as follows:
(a). 25% to the stool through the Traditional Authority for the maintenance of the stool in keeping with its status.
(b). 20%to the Traditional Authority
(c). 55% to the District Assembly within the area of authority in which the stool lands are situated.

Ladies and gentlemen, our gathering here today is stake our claim to the 55% of the revenue accruing to the District Assembly within the area of Authority in which the stool lands are situated to be used to develop Osu, Adabraka, Tudu and Asylum Down as a model city within the Greater Accra.

We believe this vision can better be channeled by capable natives who have shared in the struggles and pains of the people. We need capable young men and women of repute who can lead, govern and bring about the expected transformation.

We wish to appeal to our In-law, the President of the Republic of Ghana, His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo, the Chief of Staff, the New Patriotic Party, Local Government Minister, Greater Accra Regional Minister and the Regional Coordinating Council to not look too far in the appointment of a Municipal Chief Executive for the new Klottey Korle Municipal Assembly to facilitate unity, peace and speedy development of the Klottey Korle municipality.

It is in this vein, and for this very reason, that we the Concerned People of Klottey Korle proposes Mr. Samuel Nii Yeboah Ocquaye as our candidate.

Ladies and gentlemen, we know we do not have the power to appoint and we are not by this press conference threatening Government or assuming the responsibility of the appointing authority. As major stakeholders we are discharging our civic duty to make the work of the President easier and to ensure a quick transformation of the Klottey Korle into a viable and prosperous municipality.

Thank you very much for your attention. Once again, we wish you all a happy and prosperous New Year.

May God bless us all.

1. Mr. Enoch Nii Ofei Sackey
Polling Station Executive, Organizer
Klottey Korle Constituency

2. Mr. Ebenezer Lamptey
Polling Station Executive, Secretary
Klottey Korle Constituency

3. Mr. David Blebo Otoo
NPP Volunteer Leader
South Anorhor Community

4. Rev. Obed Tetteh Owusu Nortey
Council Chaplain, Osu Stool

5. Mr. Isaac Otu Nortey
Opinion Leader, Ashante Blohum

6. Madam Priscilla Torgbor
Graduate Community Volunteer Teacher
Klottey Korle Constituency

7. Mr. Enoch Holm
Polling Station Executive,
Klottey Korle Constituency

8. Mr. Armah Masoperh (Titolee)
Osu Fishing Community Leader

9. Mr. Isaac Collins Mensah
Resident of Osu
Volunteer Leader

10. Mr. Armah Amartefio
Opinion Leader
0244175016 / 0576905490

11. Ruth Naa Dedei Ayekwei
Social Development Worker

12. Mr. Robert Nii Oko Adams
Opinion Leader

Source: Mr. Enoch Nii Ofei Sackey

Comments ( 2 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video