Home   >   News   >   General News   >   200907
Mrs Rawlings And Others To Be Honoured   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The Afigya-Kwabre District Assembly is to hold a grand durbar to honour some illustrious citizens of the area, whose singular efforts and invaluable contributions led to both the creation and steady progress of the district.

Among them are former First Lady Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings, Mrs Betty Mould Iddrisu, Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Mr Akenten Appiah-Menkah, an Industrialist, Albert Kan-Dapaah, Member of Parliament (MP), and Mr Emmanuel Asamoah Owusu-Ansah, MP and former Ashanti regional Minister.

The Assembly's decision was taken at an emergency meeting held at Kodie. A five-member committee has therefore been set up to plan the event. Addressing the meeting, Mr. Kwaku Oppong-Kyekyeku, District Chief Executive (DCE), said the durbar would not only serve as a "home-coming" event, but more significantly would also serve to foster unity among the people.

Besides, it would also provide useful lessons, particularly to the youth and motivate them to do their bit to help accelerate the district's development. He noted that there were many wealthy and highly-placed individuals from the area who had served in various positions in previous Governments, those serving in the present government, and private businesses whose contributions to the growth of the district could not go unrecognized.
Source: GNA

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video