Home   >   News   >   General News   >   201911
39 Journalists Shortlisted For 2018 GJA Awards   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 1 )     Email    Print
GJA President, Affail Monney
Related Stories
Thirty nine journalists and nine media houses have been shortlisted for honours at the 24th Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Awards scheduled for Saturday, November 23, 2019.

The Chairperson of the Awards Committee, Mrs Betty Apau-Oppong, who announced this at a press conference in Accra yesterday, said 368 entries spanning the various competitive categories were received.

She said the seven-member Awards Committee thoroughly evaluated all the entries received, using predetermined criteria, such as balance, relevance, impact, background, ethical standard, insinuative and clarity.

“The final outcome reflects the work undertaken by the committee as a true, non-biased, fair and, therefore, professional evaluation of the quality and standard of entries received,” she said.

The President of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA), Mr Affail Monney, congratulated all the award winners on their hard work and dedication.

Meanwhile, a list of individuals and institutions which have supported the GJA over the past seven decades will be announced in due course for honours at the awards ceremony.

The shortlist is dominated by the Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL), which has 10 reporters nominated in the various categories.

They are Doreen Hammond, Daily Graphic; Nana Konadu Agyeman, Daily Graphic; Rebecca Kwei, Daily Graphic; Edmund Smith Asante, Daily Graphic; Charles Andoh, The Mirror; Charles Benoni Okine, Graphic Business; Dotse Koblah Aklorbortu, Graphic Business; Kester Aburam Korankye, Graphic Business; Maclean Kwofi, Graphic Business, and Maxwell Akalaare Adombila, Graphic Business.

Also, the GCGL is among the list of media houses to be rewarded.

The other shortlisted media organisations are Citi FM, TV3, GNA, GHOne TV, UTV, GTV, Peace FM and Atinka TV.

Other nominees

Other nominees are Alice Aryeetey, GHOne TV; Abigail Annoh, Ghanaian Times; A. B. Kafui Kanyi, GNA; Adu Gyamfi Marfo, Osagyefo FM; Alberto Mario Noretti, The Spectator; Albert Oppong-Ansah, GNA; Albert Futukpor, GNA; Anim Addo, UTV; Beryl Ernestina Richter, Joy News, and Clara Mlano, GTV.

The rest are Evelyn Tengmaa, TV3; Geoffrey Buta, The Spectator; Grace Nana Esi Boateng, Oman FM; Ibrahim Oppong Kwarteng, GTV; John Vigah, Ghanaian Times; Justice Baidoo, Joy News; Kingsley Hope, Ghanaian Times; Kofi Amoah, TV Africa; Nabil Ahmed Rufai, GHOne TV, and Peter Quao Adattor, TV3.

The rest are Portia Garbo, TV3; Prosper Kuorsoh, GNA; Rebecca Kwei, The Mirror; Robert Tachie-Menson Jnr, GNA; Samuel Adadi Akapule, Ghanaian Times; Kabu Nartey, Student Journalist (GIJ); Kwaku Osei Bonsu, GNA; Seth Kwame Boateng, Joy News; Ina Thalia Quansah, Joy News, and Janet Abena Quainoo.


The awards are in six categories.

Category One is competitive and it has News Reporting, Sports, Education, Features, Small-scale Illegal Mining and Maritime Reporting.

There are 26 categories under Category Two and it is made up of Investigative Reporting, Health and Sanitation, Political Reporting, HIV/AIDS, Agricultural Science, Business, Finance and Economic Reporting, Telecommunications, Transport and Road Safety, among others.

Category Three is solely dedicated to the morning shows on both TV and radio, Best Columnist, Best Newspaper and Best Radio and Television Station.

Category Four is reserved for media houses only, while Category Five is non-competitive and reserved for industry leadership awards.

Category Six has the Best Female Journalist of the Year 2018, the Komla Dumor Most Promising Young Journalist of the Year and the Professor P.A.V. Ansah Journalist of the Year, the winners of which will be announced on Saturday.
Source: Daily Graphic

Comments ( 1 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video