Home   >   News   >   Social   >   200908
Five Armed Robbers Jailed 100 Years   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The Accra Fast Track High Court has sentenced five armed robbers to a total of 100 years’ imprisonment in hard labour. Joseph Annan alias Tettey, Joe Osei Brenya, Larkotey Lartey alias Shaka Baabu, Nii Ayittey Hammond alias Paa Joe and Papa Nii Copson alias Corporal, all pleaded guilty to charges of conspiracy to rob and robbery.

A sixth suspect, Benjamin Asante, who was part of the armed robbery gang, was not in court as the Accra Regional Criminal Investigations Department (CID) was holding him in another robbery case. The Odorkor District Police Crime Officer, Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) Baffour Apenteng, told the Daily Graphic at the weekend that on May 4, this year, the six young men met at the James Town beach to plan and execute a number of robbery activities.

He said the robbers first struck at Korle Gonno, where they snatched a taxi from its driver. He said the six men drove in the taxi to Awudome near North Kaneshie where they snatched a Daewoo car, with registration number GW 8352 P, from its owner and took away the victim’s valuables in the car.

According to him, the six men divided themselves into two groups of three with a group in each car. DSP Apenteng said after embarking on a number of robbery activities within the North Kaneshie vicinity, the convicts drove to Gbawe where they robbed a lady of her bag and mobile phones and sped off. He said on their way back to the James Town beach, the robbers saw a roadblock mounted by a team of police personnel; they then parked the two snatched vehicles to take away their booty on foot.

Unfortunately for them, DSP Apenteng said, the last lady they robbed at Gbawe, who was then coming towards Accra on a Metro Mass bus, saw the robbers and raised an alarm. He said Joseph Annan was arrested while the others escaped. DSP Apenteng said the Odorkor police went underground and were able to arrest the others between May and July this year.

According to him, the five robbers all pleaded guilty when they were put before the court, presided over by Mr Justice N. M. C. Abodakpi, and were accordingly sentenced to 20 years each in hard labour.
Source: D-Graphic

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video