Home   >   Politics   >   Elections   >   201312
NPP vetting committee disqualifies two candidates   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The New Patriotic Party Constituency elections in the Tano North District of the Brong-Ahafo Region was nearly marred when two of the candidates were disqualified from the contest.

According to the constituency vetting committee, chaired by Mr Yaw Debie, Brong-Ahafo NPP Regional organiser, the two were disqualified because they were not paid-up members and had no party membership cards.

The action taken against the two contestants, Messrs Osei Boateng and Silas Adjei-Mensah, who were vying for constituency chairman and constituency organiser respectively, infuriated their supporters who stormed the venue for the elections and caused chaotic scenes.

But the timely intervention of Mrs Freda Prempeh, Member of Parliament for the area, and some police personnel saved the situation.

Notwithstanding, the action of the visibly angry supporters delayed the election process for hours which was being conducted and supervised by the Tano North District office of the Electoral Commission.

Mrs Prempeh said without a united front, the NPP would find it difficult to win power in 2016 and appealed to all members and supporters to unite.

She urged supporters of the party not to allow internal elections to break their front but ensure that with unity they would reach out to people at the grassroots and educate them on the ideologies and philosophies of the party to woo many of them to the party.

Nana Afodour Bonsu was elected constituency chairman, Maxwell Adu Adjei, first vice chairman, Bernard Amoako-Atta, second vice chairman, Ruth Fosuaa, women organiser and Kwame Affrifa, secretary, by popular acclamation.

The 550 delegates elected Mr Gabriel Ankomah as the constituency secretary with 219 votes to beat his two contenders, Mr George Adu Ofori, 152 and Samuel Fosu, 87 votes.

Mr Emmanuel Adu Poku obtained 362 votes to win the constituency youth organiser position by beating Jacob Kwame Adjapong who had 101 votes. Francis Kwasi Owusu was elected constituency treasurer with 279 votes.

The two other contenders, Owoahene Acheampong and Joseph Kwabena Gyau obtained 89 and 88 votes respectively.

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video