Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201402
NPP NEC Directs Re-Run Of 6 Constituency Elections   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The National Elections Committee (NEC) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has directed that the polling station, electoral area coordinators and constituency elections at six constituencies must be re-run.

They are Okaikoi South, Okaikoi North. Krowor, Juaben, Manhyia North and Kumawu.

According to a statement signed by Mr C.K Tedem, the Chairman of the NEC, the committee concluded that laid-down procedures and rules were not followed and as a result, people were deliberately disenfranchised in elections purported to have taken place.


In the case of Ejisu, the album prepared by the Ashanti Regional branch of the party will be used to conduct the constituency elections.


According to the statement, all elections would be conducted in line with existing electoral guidelines, especially regarding polling station registers to be prepared, new polling station elections to be conducted, new album to be prepared, and constituency elections to be conducted.

It also stated that no parliamentary candidates or MP must be involved.

The committee further decided that the regional NASARA elections in Ashanti and Western regions should be re-run to comply with the convention of only constituency Nasara coordinators used in conducting the elections in the other eight regions.

It concluded that all elections must be completed by the March 21, 2014 with new constituency executives duly sworn in to enable them to participate in the April 12 national delegates conference in Tamale.
Source: Daily Graphic/Ghana

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video