Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201506
NPP Primaries: Full Results Of The 9 Constituencies   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The New Patriotic Party (NPP) yesterday organized its parliamentary primaries in nine (9) constituencies in the country.

This follows the one held on June 13.

The nine constituencies were part of 30 others who could not hold their primaries because of some issues with some of the candidates.

Volta Region

In the Volta Region, NPP delegates in the Krachi Nchumuru constituency elected Mr. Innocent Kakateche as the parliamentary candidate.

Though voting began late as a result of a heavy downpour in the area this morning, constituency chairman, Joseph Danso told Citi News that delegates came in their numbers shortly after the rains to vote.

Mr innocent Kakateche was in the race with two others.

Out of the 325 votes cast Mr Innocent Kakateche polled 207 votes with Wilson Marfo and Kofi Tarkun securing 74 and 44 votes respectively.

9 delegates were absent while 4 votes were also rejected.

Greater Accra

Only one constituency voted in the Greater Accra Region – Tema East.

At the close of polls on Saturday, Titus Glover was parliamentary aspirant.

He polled 329 votes to beat his main challenger Benjamin Annan Ashietey who polled 284 votes.

Northern Region

In the Northern Region, a former District Chief Executive for Sawla-Tuna Kalba district in the Northern Region won the Parliamentary primary.

James Sunyahzi Kipo polled 276 out of 472 total votes cast to secure space in the 2016 Parliamentary ballot.

His other two contenders, Awusi Naatogmah Mahama secured 113 votes against that of Albert Obara Wuor who polled 43 votes.

Central Region

In the Central Region, former Deputy Minority Chief Whip and incumbent Member of Parliament for the Upper Denkyira West, Benjamin Kofi Ayeh was been defeated.

He lost to Mr Samuel Nsonwa Gyan, a teacher and a businessman.

Benjamin Ayeh polled 115 while Samuel Nsonwa won the majority with 220 votes.

Ashanti Region

From the Adansi Akrofrom, the incumbent MP, Appiah Pinkra was retained with 176 votes.

His main contender, Charles Korankye polled 92.

Western Region

However, the election in the Sefwi Akontombra constituency could not come on due to an impending court case.

Source: citifmonline.com

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video