Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201509
All set for CPP Congress   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
Nearly 2,800 delegates are converging on Sunyani, the Brong Ahafo Regional capital, where the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) is holding its national delegates congress to define the fortunes of the party.

The delegates, from across the country, will decide the fate of 21 aspirants who have been cleared by the vetting committee of the party to contest the various executive positions within the party at the Sunyani Polytechnic auditorium.

The highlight of the congress, dubbed Building Ghanas Integrity, is preparing the grounds for the election of a new set of national executive who will chart a new course that will lead the party into the 2016 elections.

The new officers will also preside over the election of the partys parliamentary and presidential candidates for the 2016 polls.


For todays congress, however, the positions at stake are the election of the National Chairman, three Vice Chairpersons, General Secretary, National Organiser, Treasurer, National Womens Organiser and National Youth Organiser.

Already, the elections, which are expected to be keenly contested, have Prof. Edmund Delle going unopposed for the National Chairman position.

The position to watch is that of the General Secretary which is being contested by three leading members of the party.

They are: Nii Armah Akomfrah, currently the Communication Director of the party; James Kwabena Bomfeh, aka Kabila, and Kosi Dedey, with his stronghold in the Volta Region.

The other position which will be equally hotly contested is the Vice Chairman slot, which has three positions for grabs. The contestants are Mrs Susan Adu-Amankwah, who is seeking re-election, Mr Kwabena Benyarko, who is on the Strategy Committee of the party and Hajia Hamidatu, currently the Womens Organiser.

Others are Ibrahim Haruna, a leading member, Prince Roland Vincent Ahiadzro, Volta Regional Chairman, Ramson Dabihazaaya Yinbil, Upper East Regional Chairman, Alhaji Amadu Tijani Abdul Rahmani, Northern Regional Chairman and Mr Seth Otibu Mpare, Eastern Regional Chairman.

For the National Womens Organiser position Harriet Anita Abaidoo, a front runner, is being contested by Aisha Sulley Futa.

For the National Organisers position, three leading members Amankwah Appiah, Emmanuel Kwao Ogbordjor and Rashid Alao are slugging it out, whilst Ernesto Yeboah, James Tetteh Ehiaway and Akwasi Bosompem Boateng are vying for the National Youth Organiser slot.

Mr Samuel Gordon Etroo and Dr Adolf Lutterodt are contesting for the National Treasurer post.


The congress will be declared open with an address by the Brong Ahafo Regional chairman to welcome the delegates and other dignitaries.

The General Secretary is also expected to give a report after which the National Chairman of the party will address the congress.

Officials of the Electoral Commission will supervise the voting process and also declare the election results at the end of voting.

Prior to todays climax, the National Executive Council yesterday held a meeting to discuss pertinent issues affecting the party, with the unity of the Nkrumaist front as one of the key issues on the agenda.

The Brong Ahafo Regional Secretary of the CPP, Mr Eben Agbenya Mawudor, told the Daily Graphic that the congress would be rounded off with a thanksgiving service at the Ebenezer Presbyterian Church in Sunyani on Sunday.
Source: Daily Graphic

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video