Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201509
ER NDC Gets More Female Aspirants   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 0 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
In all, 81 candidates filed their nominations to contest the primaries slated for November 7, but the Vetting Committee chaired by, Mr Dan Abodakpi disqualified three of them.

The female contestants include, Ms Mavis Ama Frimpong, the Deputy Eastern Regional Minister, who filed her nomination for the Abirem Constituency; Ms. Betty Crosby Mensah, Afram Plains North; Ms Georgina Opoku, Abetifi; Ms Abigail Elorm Mensah, Fanteakwa- South; Ms Sheila Nana Ampem, Lower West Akyem; and Benedicta Oyoo Asante, Nsawam-Adoagyiri Constituency.

The rest are Ms Margaret Ansah, Akropong and Ms Esther Dziwonu, Akuapem South Constituency.

Ms Mavis Frimpong, the Deputy Regional Minister and former District Chief Executive of Birim North, is going unopposed at the Abirem Constituency and it is, therefore, settled for her to contest with the New Patriotic Party (NPP) candidate, come December 2016.

If all the nine go through at the primaries, it may increase the female participation in the 2016 general elections, and invariably, increase the female parliamentarians from the region, since the majority of the female contestants are highly tipped to win.

Ms Madam Margaret Ansah, who is contesting Mr. Michael Ofori Ofei for the Akropong Constituency, just like Ms Mavis Frimpong, is making the second attempt after contesting the 2012 presidential and parliamentary elections on the ticket of the NDC but lost.

The Eastern Region currently has only three female parliamentarians out of the 33 constituencies from the NPP side, and they are Madam Esther Dapaah, Abirem; Ms Abena Asare, Atiwa; and Ms Gifty Klenam, Lower West Akyem Constituency.

Meanwhile, the three disqualified aspirants have, up till the end of today September 28, to make an appeal.

Briefing the media after the vetting, Mr Solomon Nkansah, National Communications Officer of the party said, the three failed to meet the necessary criteria and were temporarily disqualified.

They are Kwame Darkwa Odame from Fanteakwa North, Anthony Gyimah from Abuakwa North and Nick Arthur from Nsawam –Adoagyiri,
Source: GNA

Comments ( 0 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video