Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201610
Stage Set For Mahama, Nana, Two More To Contest 2016 Elections   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 4 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
The Electoral Commission on Monday, 10th October, 2016, set the stage for four presidential aspirants to contest the 2016 elections.

Out of seventeen (17) presidential candidates who submitted their nomination forms, only four were accepted to contest this year's elections.

Chairperson of the Commission at a press conference, Monday indicated that the aspirants were disqualified for failing to meet the set criteria.

According to the EC, a candidate may face disqualification if "the nomination form is not properly signed by the candidate;
statutory declaration is not properly executed; Filing fees not presented in requested mode or amount; Less than two registered voters per district sign the nomination forms; nomination forms are not properly signed by all the subscribing voters; candidate or the designated vice president nominee does not meet the legal requirements of the nominated office".

Barring any objections or court action, the following four presidential aspirants will have their names on the ballot papers during the elections:

Nana Addo–Dankwa Akufo-Addo – New Patriotic Party

John Dramani Mahama – National Democratic Congress

Ivor Kobina Greenstreet – Convention Peoples’ Party

Jacob Osei Yeboah – Independent Candidate

Meanwhile, the following candidates have been disqualified:

Akwasi Addai Odike – United Progressive Party

Akua Donkor – Ghana Freedom Party

Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker – Independent candidate

Thomas Nuako Ward-Brew – Democratic People’s Party

Mrs. Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings – National Democratic Party

Richard Nixon Tetteh – United Development Systems Party

Dr. Henry Herbert Lartey – Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP)

Papa Kwesi Nduom – Progressive People’s Party (PPP)

Kwabena Adjei- Reform Patriotic Democrat

Kofi Akpaloo- Independent People’s Party

Nana Agyenim Boateng – United Front Party

Edward Nasigri Mahama – PNC

Hassan Ayariga – All Peoples’ Congress (APC)
Source: Rebecca Addo Tetteh/Peacefmonline.com

Comments ( 4 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video