Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201612
Transition Team Named...Inauguration On Sunday!   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 37 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
A 20 Member Tranistion Team that will see to a successful January 7th swearing-in of newly elected President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been named.

The Mahama-led NDC government was thumped at the polls last Wednesday losing out to Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo who secured 53.85% of the total valid votes cast. He won the popular vote in six of Ghana’s 10 regions.

And in accordance with Presidential (Transition) (Amendment) Bill, 2016 which demands for the establishment of a Transition Team within twenty-four hours after the declaration of the results of the presidential election, the incoming president and the out-going team have named their representatives who will ensure a smooth handing over.

A statement issued in Accra today (Saturday) and signed by the Communications Minister, Dr Edward Omane Boamah, indicated that the team which will be inaugurated on Sunday comprise (1) the head of the presidential staff appointed under the Presidential Office Act, 1993 (Act 463), (ii) the Attorney-General, (iii) the Minister responsible for Finance, (v) the Minister responsible for the Interior, (vi) the Minister responsible for Defence, (vii) the Minister responsible for Foreign Affairs, (viii) the Minister responsible for Local Government, the Head of the Civil Service, the Head of the Local Government Service, the Secretary to the Cabinet, and the National Security Co-ordinator amongst others.

Read the statement below

Further to the provisions of the Presidential Transition Act 2012 (Act 845), ​President John Dramani Mahama has appointed ​the following as ​members of the Transition Team​:​

​1. ​Julius Debrah- Chief of Staff

​2. ​Marietta Brew Appiah Opong- Attorney General & Minister for Justice

3. ​Seth E. Terkper- Minister for Finance

​4. ​Prosper Bani- Minister for the Interior

​5. ​Dr. Benjamin Kunbour- Minister for Defence

6. ​Hanna S. Tetteh- Minister for Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration

7. ​Alhaji Collins Dauda- Minister for Local Government & Rural Development

Representing the President-elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo are:

1. ​Yaw Osafo Maafo- Representative of the President-elect

2. ​Frema Osei Opare- Head of the Staff of Office of the President-elect

3. ​Gloria Akuffo- Member responsible for Legal Affairs

4. ​Ken Ofori- Atta- Member responsible for Finance

5. ​Ambrose Dery- Member responsible for the Interior

6. ​Dominic Nitiwul- Member responsible for Defence

7. ​Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey- Member responsible for Foreign Affairs

8. ​Hajia Alima Mahama- Member responsible for Local Government

9. ​Albert Kan Dapaah- Member responsible for National Security

In accordance with the provisions of the Presidential Transition Act 2012 (Act 845), the following are statutory members of the Transition Team:

1. ​Head of the Civil Service

2. ​Head of the Local Government Service

3. ​Secretary to the Cabinet

4. ​National Security Coordinator

The Transition Team, which will be co-chaired by President John Dramani Mahama and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the President-elect, will be inaugurated on Sunday December 11, 2016 at 5pm.


Edward K. Omane Boamah (Dr.)
Minister for Communications
December 10, 2016.
Source: Peacefmonline.com

Comments ( 37 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video