Home   >   Politics   >   Politics   >   201901
NPP’s Lydia Alhassan Wins Ayawaso West Wuogon Seat By Landslide   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 15 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
New Patriotic Party candidate, Lydia Seyram Alhassan has been declared winner in the Ayawaso West Wuogon bye-elections.

Four political parties - the New Patriotic Party (NPP), National Democratic Congress, Progressive People's Party (PPP) and the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) contested the vacant seat at the constituency.

The candidates who vied for the position of the late Member of Parliament for the constituency were Lydia Seyram Alhassan of the NPP, Delali Kwesi Brempong (NDC), Clement Boadi (LPG) and PPP's aspirant William Dowokpor.

Reporting from the collation centre at Legon, Peace FM's correspondent Obeng Manu indicated that Madam Seyram Alhassan won the bye-election by a landslide victory, polling 12,041 votes representing 68.8 percent while the National Democratic Congress (NDC) candidate, Delali Kwasi Brempong polled 5,341 votes representing 30.52%.

The PPP and the LPG polled 102 and 17 votes respectively.

Total votes cast during the election were 17,589 with total valid votes being 17,501 and 88 rejected ballots by 88,710 registered voters.

Moments after the Electoral Commission declared the official results, General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), John Boadu announced the victory of their candidate to the party faithfuls present.

Madam Seyram Alhassan, on her part, dedicated her victory to the honour of her late husband and former Member of Parliament for the constituency, Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko.


Source: Peacefmonline.com/Ghana

Comments ( 15 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video