Home   >   Sports   >   Football/Soccer   >   201405

Names of 71 Ex Black Star Players To Benefit From Gov't GHc1.7m Package   
  << Prev  |  Next >>
Comments ( 1 )     Email    Print
Related Stories
A research has revealed that 71 retired players of the Black Stars will benefit from the GHc1.7 Million compensation package announced by President John Mahama to honour the past heroes for their triumphs in 1963 and 1065, 1978 and 1982 African Cup of Nations.

The package covers 18 players in tye 1963, 19 ex-stars in the 1965, 22 in 1978 and 22 in Libya 1982. Six players participated in both the 1963 triumph in Ghana and the 1965 conquest in Tunisia, and three players were involved in both the 1978 triumph in Accra and the last winning squad in Libya 1982.

Sadly, Seven players from the 1963 squad have passed away, another seven from the 1965 squad, three from the 1978 contingent and two from the 1982 squad.

The full team for the 1963 comprised: Edward Aggrey Fynn (captain), Dodoo Ankrah, Franklin Crentsil, Oblitey Owens, Addo Odamatey, Ben Acheampong, Ofei Dodoo, Kwame Adarkwa, Wiberforce Mfum, Edward Aquah, Mohammed Salisu, Kofi Pare, Atta Kwame, E.E de Graft, Agyeman Gyau, Joe Aikins, Osei Kofi and Leonard Acquah.

The dead are Aggrey Fynn, Addo Odametey, Ofei Dodoo, Edward Acquah, Mohammed Salisu, Atta Kwame and Joe Aikins.

The 1965 squad was made up of: Addo Odametey (captain), Dodoo Ankrah, Ben Acheampong Kofi Pare, Osei Kofi, Agyeman Gyau, Frank Odoi, Sam Acquah, Ganiyu Salami, Willie Evans, Bernard Kusi, Kwame Nti, John Naawu, Paa Nii Lutterodt, Jone Attuquayefio, Richard Banier, Oman Mensah, Joe Addision and Amusa Gbadamoshie.

The departed from that squad are: Addoi Odametey, Sam Acquah, Willie Evans, Kwame Nti, Paa Nii Lutterodt, Oman Mensah and Joe Addision.

The 1978 squad that won the original cup for keeps comprised Awuley Quaye (captain), Opoku Afriyie, Joe Carr, Huseini, Salifu, Isaac Acquaye, Kuuku Dadzie, Haruna Yusif, P.S.K Paha, Charles Oppong, Justice Moore, Ofei Ansah Ansah, Adolf Armah, John Nketia Yawson, Dan Kayede, Mohmmed Polo, Addae Kyenknyenhene, Willie Klutse, Anas Seidu, Kuntu Blankson, Abdul Razak, Emmanuel Quarshie and George Alhassan.

Departed from the 1978 squad are: Justice Moore, Ofei Ansah and Emmanuel Quarshie.

The 1982 contingent was: Emmanuel Quarshie (captain), Haruna Yusif, Sampson Lamptey, Owusu Mensah, John Baker, Joseph Carr, Kwame Sampson, Isaac Paha, Albert Asaase, John Essien, Kofi Badu, George Alhassan, Opoku Nti, Seth Ampadu, Kofi Abbrey, Abedi Ayew Pele, Opoku Afriyie, Hesse Odamtten, Kwasi Appiah, Acquah Maclean, Ben Kayede and John Bannerman.

The departed are Emmanuel Quarshie and John Baker. The records show that the six double winners for 1963 and 1965 were Addo Odametey, Dodoo Ankrah, Ben Acheampong, Kofi Pare, Osei Kofi and Agyeman Gyau.

Opoku Afriyie, Haruna Yusif and George Alhassan were both in the 1978 and 1982 squads.
Source: Ghanasportsonline.com

Comments ( 1 ): Post Your Comments >>

Disclaimer: Opinions expressed here are those of the writers and do not reflect those of Peacefmonline.com. Peacefmonline.com accepts no responsibility legal or otherwise for their accuracy of content. Please report any inappropriate content to us, and we will evaluate it as a matter of priority.
Featured Video