Parliament selects representatives for ECOWAS and Pan African Parliaments

Parliament on Tuesday selected 13 legislative members to represent Ghana at the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Parliament in Abuja, Nigeria, and the Pan African Parliament (PAP) in Midrand, South Africa. Out of the number, eight members would attend the ECOWAS Parliament and they are Mr Alfred Kwame Agbesi, Deputy Majority Leader and MP for Ashiaman, Mr Sampson Ahi, MP for Bodi, Mr Ahmed Ibrahim, MP for Banda, and Mr Dominic Azimbe Azumah, MP for Garu. The rest are Mr Daniel Botwe, Minority Whip and MP for Okere, Mr Fredrick Opare-Ansah, MP for Suhum, Mr Simon Osei-Mensah, MP for Bosomtwi and Madam Shirley Ayorkor Botwe, MP for Anyaa/Sowutuom. The five-member representatives to the PAP are Mr Ebo Barton-Odro, First Deputy Speaker and Cape Coast North MP, Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, MP for Asewase, and Majority Chief Whip, Mrs Juliana Azumah-Mensah, MP for Agotime-Ziope, Mr Dominic Nitiwul, Deputy Minority Leader and MP for Bimbilla and Madam Elizabeth Agyeman, MP for Oforikrom. The Majority Leader and Leader of the House moved the motion for the adoption and approval of the report of leadership on the reconstitution of members for the ECOAWS and Pan African Parliament. Minority Leader and MP for Suame, Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu, seconded the motion and urged the members to become worthy ambassadors of Ghana. Haruna Iddrisu, MP for Tamale South and Minister for Trade and Industry, also implored the representatives to utilize those platforms to move further the country�s goal of improving fair trade with other countries in the sub-region and on the continent.