Not All Fireworks Banned

The ministries of Trade and Industries and the Interior have stated that not all fireworks have been banned by the government. This was contained in the Trade and Industry Ministry’s reply to a request by Amudalatu Company Limited for clarification on which fireworks had been banned. The Trade Ministry wrote to the Ministry of Interior for the clarification. According to the reply signed on behalf of the Ministry of Trade and Industry by the Deputy Chief Communications Officer of the ministry, Mr K. A Nyame-Baafi, information from the Ministry of Interior indicated that the ban had been placed on the following; fire crackers (knock out), display shells, artillery shells and balls and canister shells. “In the exercise of the powers conferred on the Hon. Minister responsible for Interior under subsection five of the Public Order Act, 1994 (Act 491), an Executive Instrument (EI 21) was passed on the subject on September 9, 1999 after much deliberations among stakeholders”, it said. The following goods were exempted from the ban: Bottle rockets and missiles, floral shells, handle cylindrical fountains, ground spanners handing wheels, onwards wheel, hand-hold fireworks-sparkles, Roman candles, toys and assorted toy fireworks, as well as single and multiple mines. “It may be of interest to know as a further clarification that the ministry, in conjunction with the Police Service on December 30, 2003 examined and mentioned the list of items below as being exempted from the ban:M1--, Chuckoo, King Monkey, 120 Shots, Raging Monster, Happy, Jupiter Missiles, Cornucopia, Cracking Ground, Maximum Charge, Blown and Great Wall. The rest are: Kingguang, Lochness Monster, Calizhutug, Pop, Tube Colour Pearls, Bomber, Whistling Mom Traveler, UR. 1, Assorted Rocket, Assorted U3009, 96 Colour Pearl and Alicja.