Asante-Akim South NPP Elects Officers

A former constituency secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Asante-Akim South Constituency, Mr Gilbert Adarkwah-Yiadom, has been elected as the constituency Chairman. This was at the party’s special delegates’ conference held at Asankare. Mr Adarkwah-Yiadom polled 516 votes to beat his only challenger, Mr Robert Ofori Kwarteng, who had 95 votes. The other officers elected by the 676 delegates drawn from 26 polling stations, included Mr Noah Kyei, First Vice Chairman, Mr Twum Kwakye, Second Vice Chairman, Mr Nathan Antwi Aboagye, Secretary, Mr Perkins K. Daniel, Youth Organizer, and Ms Comfort Asamoah, Women's Organizer. Mr Kwaku Asante, the Member of Parliament for the constituency expressed excitement at the peaceful conduct of the poll and rallied the party members and supporters to forge ahead in unity. They should hold together, work hard and accept to make the necessary sacrifices to return the NPP to power in 2016. He cautioned against complacency, saying, although the constituency seat was safe, they should do more to substantially increase the party’s share of votes in the next elections. Mr Adarkwah-Yiadom thanked the delegates and pledged to live up to expectation. He, however, appealed for good understanding and cooperation. They would do everything to broaden the support base to assure the party of electoral victory in 2016.