Sammy Awuku: NPP Flagbearer Hopefuls Must Call Their Supporters To Order

“I am worried about the activities of the aspirants…the worrying thing is that our opponent is quietly listening to us while we wash our dirty linen in public. It is time for the aspirants to call their supporters to order. We will not allow anyone to make our work difficult,” says National Youth Organiser of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP). Sammy Awuku was commenting on some remarks being made by groups and individuals rooting for some flagbearer hopefuls of his party on social media. Even though he refused to mention exactly what has been said by some of these supporters, Sammy Awuku said during a panel discussion on Tuesday’s edition of ‘Kokrokoo’ that they (Aspirants) should be mindful of the fact that whatever they say against each other, will be used against them by the ruling National Democratic Congress because ‘we did the same thing to them’. Speaking to the number of people who have so far indicated their intention to contest for the flagbearership slot, Sammy Awuku said he would have wished for only 5 candidates to contest. “I would have wished that not more than five will contest…We suffered problems when about 17 people contested in the past; at the end of the day, we had to heal many wounds. It is not illegal to go beyond 5 but I PERSONALLY think that with our current situation; it will be better that we don’t get a lot of people contesting. However if that happens then….” So far, the would-be presidential aspirants of the NPP, include two-time presidential candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, twice flag bearer hopeful Alan Kwadwo Kyeramaten, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku and Prof. Kwabena, Frimpong-Boateng. Others are Mr Stephen Asamoah Boateng a former minister of state, Mr Kofi Osei Ameyaw, MP for Asuogyaman, and Mr. Isaac Osei, MP for Subin. Other names that are also emerging are: Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament and Attorney General in the Kufuor era, Mr Joe Ghartey, Mr Francis Addai Nimoh, the Member of Parliament (MP) for Mampong among others.