NDC, NPP Chairs Fight Over Two Parliamentary Seats

The battle lines are drawn between the Regional Chairmen of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the governing National Democratic Congress (NDC) over the Talensi and Nabdam parliamentary seats that, the latter lost to the former in the 2012 elections. The NDC’s Moses Asaga lost the Nabdam seat to the former Executive Director of the National Service Scheme, Mr. Boniface Gambila while Mr. John Kologo Tia lost to Mr. Robert Doameng. Even though the NPP snatched those two seats from the NDC, it lost Navrongo Central constituency to Mr. Mark Woyongo, which was held by Mr. Joseph Kofi Adda. But while the Mr. Mahama Adams, NPP regional chairman stated in his victory speech some few months ago that it was his main aim to protect the Talensi and Nabdam seats won by the party and also work extra hard to win more seats, including recapturing the Navrongo seat, his NDC counterpart, Alhaji Bonalba Mumuni who was recently retained as regional chairman also vowed to recapture the lost seats and also protect those the party won. There are 15 constituencies in the Upper East Region with NDC holding 12, NPP 2 and the PNC 1. Though the two major parties are yet to open applications for interested persons to file their nomination for the parliamentary contest, this paper had gathered that Mr. Asaga and Mr. Tia Kologo are both preparing to contest in the primaries. Alhaji Bolnaba declared his aim in a brief victory speech in Bolgatanga where delegates of his party re-elected him as chairman for the third time during a regional delegates’ conference. He beat his only contender, Alhaji Osman Akasum Alem. Abubakari Atongo Salifu was elected 1st Vice Chairman with 119 votes to beat four other contenders. Akamugri Donatus polled 112 votes to retain his position as Regional Secretary. He beat three others. The deputy regional secretary’s position was between two communicators of the NDC in the Region, Thomas Abiola and Dnaka John Paul. Mr. Abiola obtained 90 votes to win the position against his contender, who polled 78 votes. Alhaji Issah Mumuni was elected as treasurer with 59 votes. He beat three others. Atanga Bilbert was elected as deputy treasurer with 110 votes to beat his only contender, Mahama Ken Kazr, who managed 58 votes. With 111 votes, Baba Kumasi was voted as Party Organizer after beating three others. Issaka Haruna was elected deputy organizer with 110 votes. Bernard Boakerik Bougzor was retained as Propaganda Secretary, while Anyiam Kenkeni Aloysius was elected as Deputy Propaganda Secretary.