Government renews curfew on Alavanyo and Nkonya Townships

The Minister of the Interior has on the advice of the Volta Regional Security Council and by Executive Instrument renewed the curfew imposed on Alavanyo and Nkonya Townships with effect from Friday January 30.

A statement signed by Mr Mark Owen Woyongo, sector minister said the curfew hours are now from 6:00pm to 6:00am.

It said government continues to express its appreciation to the chiefs, elders, opinion leaders, youth and people of the area for their efforts in ensuring peace and urged them to use the established mechanisms for the resolution of all disputes.

The statement said government would like to reiterate that, there is a ban on all persons in the two towns and their environs from carrying arms, ammunition or any offensive weapons, and any person found with any arms or ammunition would be arrested and prosecuted.