New Cabinet LIST

The Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing, Alhaji Collins Dauda has been sacked from cabinet by the President John Dramani Mahama.

A new list of cabinet Ministers submitted by the President to Parliament excluded his name.
His place has been taken by Kwabena Donkor, new Minister of Power.  It is unclear whether the President is trying to ensure regional balance by replacing Mr Collins Dauda who is from Asutifi South Constituency in the Brong Ahafo Region with Dr Donkor from  Pru East, also in the same Region.

The Member of Parliament for Effutu, Alex Afenyo Markin on February 6, raised alarm over the list of cabinet ministers saying the list is bloated and thus contradicts Article 76(1) of the 1992 constitution.

He argued that ever since the Ministry of Energy was removed from the then Ministry of Energy and Petroleumm government has not communicated to them which one is part of cabinet and which one is not.

He further called on the President to clarify the issue questioning “why hasn’t the president communicated to Parliament as to which ministry is part of cabinet. Because now that we don’t have any ministry of energy and petroleum we are unable to tell which ministry is part of cabinet and which ministry is out of cabinet.”

“There isn’t any executive instrument, which is talking about the 19 member cabinet which is the maximum allowed in Act 76(1),” he added.

Below is the new Cabinet list submitted to Parliament 

Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration
Ministry of Defence
Ministry of Petroleum
Ministry of Interior
Ministry of Trade and Industry
Ministry of Justice and Attorney-General Department
Ministry of Roads and Highways
Ministry of Food and Agriculture
Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources
Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development
Ministry of Health
Ministry of Education
Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations
Ministry of Transport
Ministry of Power
Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation
Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection
Ministry of Communications