NDC Vets 64 Parliamentary Aspirants In Brong-Ahafo

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has ended the vetting of 64 out of 66 parliamentary aspirants in the Brong-Ahafo Region for Election 2016 in Sunyani.

Two aspirants from Techiman North, Mr. Alex Kyeremeh, currently the MP for the area and also a Deputy Minister of Education, and Mr. Prince Opoku Mensah, a party member were, however, not vetted.

Fourteen out of the party’s 16 sitting Members of Parliament (MPs) are among the 66 aspirants for the NDC’s slots of the Region’s 29 Constituencies.

Two current MPs, Messrs Yaw Effah Baafi of Kintampo South and Stephen Kunsu of Kintampo North, did not appear at the vetting because of their decision not to contest again.

Ten aspirants, all MPs, except one, Mr. Kwadwo Agyei Dwomor, District Chief Executive for Nkoranza North were nominated unopposed.

They are Mr. Eric Opoku, Asunafo South and Regional Minister, Alhaji Collins Dauda, Asutifi South and Minister of Local Government and Rural Development (LGRD), Ms. Hannah Louisa Bissiw, Tano North, and a Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Mr. Vincent Oppong Asamoah, Dormaa West and Deputy Minister for Youth and Sports.

The rest are Mr. Kwasi Agyemang Gyan-Tutu, Tain, Mr. Ahmed Ibrahim, Banda, Alhaji Masawud Mohammed, Pru West, Mr. Dominic Napare, Sene East and Mr. Emmanuel Kwadwo Agyekum, Nkoranza South and a Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development.

The vetting committee comprised a seven-member team from Accra which included Alhaji Huudu Yahaya, leader and a former National Vice Chair and Mr. James Asante, the Party’s National Director of Communications .

The others were Madam Anita Desooso, a National Vice-Chair, Messrs Koku Anyidoho, Joshua Akamba and Fred Agbenyo, Deputy General Secretary, Deputy National Organiser and a Communication Officer of the Party, respectively.

Dr. Catherine Deynu, Deputy National Women Organiser was also among, and they were joined by the Regional and the Constituency executives for the conduct of the exercise.

In a post-event briefing of the Media, Mr. Asante said while no aspirant was disqualified, some nominees agreed to step down in the interest of the Party.

They comprised Berekum East, two, Wenchi, three, Kintampo North, one and also one from Nkoranza North who did not appear at the event, he said.

Mr. Asante explained that vetting for the Techiman North “was put on hold, ” because of an internal party issue, and added that the case had been referred to Accra for determination in a week’s time.

He described the process as fair and peaceful, because the contestants’ supporters comported themselves, and added that key questions revolved around eligibility, competency, dedication and loyalty to the cause of the party.