Kumawood Stars Boycott Awards Show

Majority of the Kumawood celebrities were conspicuously missing from the 2015 Kumawood Akoben Film Festival (KAFF) awards held over the weekend in Kumasi, Ashanti Region.

The KAFF which was postponed on two consecutive occasions was somehow a flop as compared to previous years which mostly attract huge attendance.

The stars who did not show up took the shine out of the sail.

There not only empty seats, but the event which was scheduled to start at 7pm, started at 11: pm.

It is unclear as to why the faces behind Kumawood decided not to show up for the awards even though they were in one way or the other nominated in various categories.

Big wigs such as Nana Ama McBrown, Rose Mensah ‘Kyeiwaa’, Akrobeto, Vivian Jill Lawrence, Kwadwo Nkansah ‘Liwin’, Kwaku Manu, Mercy Asiedu, Samuel Ofori, Christiana Awuni, Bishop Bernard, Clara Benson ‘Maame Serwaah’, Matilda Asare, Joseph Osei ‘Wayoosi’, and the returnee Grace Omaboe ‘Maame Dokono’ did not attend the event.

Ultimate1069.com sources hinted that though Lilwin was inside one of the rooms at the Golden Tulip Hotel where the event was held, he refused to turn up for his award for Most Favourite actor.

However, his Public Relations Officer (PRO) picked the award on his behalf.

However, some of the nominees and other stars who were present to witness the event or pick awards include Bill Asamoah, Emelia Brobbey, Abraham Davies ‘Salinko’,  Van Vicker, Michael Afranie, Big Akwes, Benedicta Gafah, Regina Adu Sarfowaa, Bridget Serwaa, Angela, Nana Osei Kwame Obrempong (Shapiro), Odehyeaba, and Andrew Fiifi Doudu.

Artistes billed for the show such as Patience Nyarko and Nero X rocked the show, with patrons dancing to their songs.

Some of the actors, actresses, director, technicians, producers who grabbed awards include:

Best Costumier: Samuel Anane

Best sound:  Frank Amponsah

Best Visual effect: Ninja just 3 days,

Best Director of photograph:  Evander Kwame

Best Film Editor:  Kenneth Yeboah

Best Collaboration Twi and English Broni wawu: Frank Gabin

Best short film: Dead territory

Most favourite movie: Made in Agege

Best Actor lead role: Van Vicker

Kumawood male Ambassador: Bill Asamaoh

Kumawood Female Ambassador:  Emelia Brobbey

Most Favourite actress: Emelia Brobbey

Best Actress lead role: Benedicta Gafah

Best Actor supporting role: Bill Asamoah

Best Actress supporting role: Bridget Serwaa

Promising Star: Regina Adu Sarfowaa

Best Juvenile: Clara Benson ‘Maame Serwaa’

Most Favourite Actor: Lilwin

Best Actor lead role: Van Vicker

Best Actress lead role Dagbani: Zaida Basuri