70 Members Defect To NDC

Seventy active members o the New Patriotic Party (NPP) at Domeabra, in the Asante Akim North Municipality have defected to the National Democratic Congress (NDC). Mr. Super Yaw Ofori, Chairman of the NPP youth wing, who confirmed the defection in an interview with The Chronicle newspaper, claimed that the defectors have seen the political light in the NDC. He said, during the polling station elections held throughout the country recently, some NPP executives picked forms to contest the election, but the constituency executives rejected some of them because they do not belong to any to the emerging Nana Akufo-Addo and Mr. Alan Kyeremanteng factions in the NPP. He said, the executives, including the Women Orgainzer, Mad. Doris Opoku, Opuni Asiedu – Financial Secretary, Youth Organizer – Kofi Kwarteng among others, have vowed that they will never go back to the NPP again. Opanin Kofi Oppong, a 72-year old NDC activist, who led the 70 defected members to the offices of the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for Asante Akim North, also confirmed the defection of the NPP members. The MCE, Hon. Thomas Osei Bonsu, welcomed them into the fold of the NDC and tasked them to work hard for victory in the 2012 elections, and to help achieve the ‘Better Ghana’ objective under President Atta Mills. He promised to see to their welfare and ensure that development projects come to the Dome Township. The defected members appealed to President J.E.A Mills to provide them with employment, particularly in the police, prison and fire services, while considering advancing loans to traders in the town, in order to ensure that the youth at Dome also benefit from the NDC party.