Minority Cautions Govt Over New Regions

The Minority in Parliament has cautioned the New Patriotic Party (NPP) government against the creation of 5 new regions without following due process as enshrined in the 1992 constitution.

The additional regions are a fulfilment of the NPP’s campaign promise to carve new regions out of some large, existing regions in order to speed up development.

A commission of enquiry has since begun work to assess petitions for the creation of the new regions.

On the floor of the house on Monday, Minority leader, Haruna Iddrisu said several constitutional amendments will have to be effected before the creation takes place and added that a national referendum would have to be carried out.

He made this known during the debate on estimates for the Ministry of Regional Reorganization and Development.