Volta NPP renews Nuworsu's mandate

Long-time Volta Regional Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Kenwuud Nuworsu, has won another four year term at the Party's Regional Delegates Conference on Wednesday. This extends Mr Nuworsu's mandate up to 2013 from 2001, when he stepped into that position as acting Regional Chairman and won subsequent elections into that office. Mr Johnson Avulete, former Regional Organiser, was Mr Nuworsu's sole challenger. Mr Nuworsu said before voting began that he has bided his time and others should also learn to do the same. In a victory speech he pledge to make Mr Avulete an honorary member of his executive so the party could benefit from his experience. Mr Avulete, however, beat his chest saying he deserved to be commended for being bold to stand up to Mr Nuworsu against whom nobody was willing to contest for the post, but pledged his co-operation for the good of the party. But for two instances when Mr Nuworsu was challenged by one of the candidates for using his welcome address as platform to campaign, and when some delegates rushed to the dais with some muscular men to protest at not being called to vote, the elections passed off peacefully. Other candidates elected by the delegates were Mr Charles Tettey who retained his position as First Regional Vice-Chairman, Dr Archibald Letsa unopposed as Second Regional Vice-Chairman, Mr George Kofi Boateng as Regional Secretary, with Mrs Doris Ama Bansah, as Assistant Regional Secretary. Others were Mr Ken Ayim, Regional Organiser. Maxwell Koffie replaced Maxwell Blagogee as Regional Youth Organiser, while Mrs Fidelia Dorleku also unseated Ms Rejoice Dorkenoo as Regional Women's Organiser. The rest were Mr Peter Akotey, Regional Treasurer and Alhaji Issah, NASARA Regional Co-ordinator.