Presbyterian Church of Ghana To Elect New Moderator

The Presbyterian Church of Ghana will elect a new moderator on Wednesday to take over from Right Rev Professor Cephas Narh Omenyo who is currently indispose.

The General Assembly Council of the PCG took a decision on Friday, August 17 to declare the Moderator’s seat vacant so that a new leader could be elected for the Church.

Right Rev Professor Omenyo was elected Moderator of the Church in August 2016 at Abetifi during the 18th General Assembly and was inducted into office on Sunday 4th December 2016.

Unfortunately the Moderator fell sick in May 2017 during an official visit to the Europe Presbytery of the Presbyterian Church.

The Moderator was in London to ordain some Ministerial Probationers.

Article 17 (7) says that where the office of the Moderator of the General Assembly becomes vacant by reason of resignation, death, incapacitation or otherwise, the General Assembly shall appoint any qualified Minister of the Church to act as Moderator of the Church until the General Assembly elects a substantive Moderator of the General Assembly at the next regular General Assembly meeting.”

When the Moderator felt sick last year the church appointed Rev Dr Victor Okoe Abbey, the current Chairperson of Ga Presbytery of the Church as Acting Moderator and therefore if the substantive Moderator cannot continue to perform his functions on the basis of incapacitation then a new Moderator should be elected.

The Public Relations Officer of the Church Rev George Larbi when contacted confirmed that its true a new Moderator would be elected during the General Assembly which is currently taking place at Akropong Akuapem in the Eastern Region.

When he was asked to name some of the strong contenders for the election, he explained that nominations would be held on the day of election and therefore there are no strong contenders at the moment.

The Presbyterian Church of Ghana is currently holding its 18th General Assembly at the Christ Congregation at Akropong Akuapem in the Eastern Region.