Asante Akim North NPP elects officers

A Medical Assistant at the Agogo Presbyterian Hospital, Mr Sampson Agyei, has been elected the Constituency Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for Asante-Akim North. He polled 501 votes to beat off the challenge by Paul Nkrumah Dikwa, who secured 186 votes. This was at the party's delegates' conference held at Akutuase to pick new officers. This followed the peaceful resolution of the dispute over the constituency electoral roll and subsequent lifting of the court injunction placed on the election. An aggrieved party member, Mr Stephen Boampong, had sought and been granted court injunction restraining the NPP from organizing the poll until anomalies in the electoral register were corrected. Notwithstanding the relative peace of the conference, there was heavy security presence as hundreds of party faithful thronged the venue. Other officers elected were Mr Joe Nimoh Aikins, first Vice Chairman, Mr George Kyei Baffour, Secretary, Mr Francis Bright Appiadu, the second Vice Chairman, Mr Asare Baffour Adjepong, Organizer, Mr Jones Asamoah, Youth Organiser, Mr Hanson Obeng Gyimah, Treasurer and Ms Christiana Amo-Antwi, Women Organiser. Mr Kennedy Kankam, the Regional Youth Organiser, swore the executive into office and called for a united front as the party prepares towards Election 2012. He urged them to avoid internal wrangling and remain focused on the task of increasing the support base of the party.