RTI Bill: We Are Not Satisfied With Changes – Coalition

The coalition for Right to Information Bill says they are not satisfied with the changes that have been effected in the RTI bill.

He says though they are happy with the intended passage of the bill into law, he intimidated that if their considerations had been accepted and added to the bill, it would have been very appropriate.

Speaking on Okay FM’s 'Ade Akye Abia' programme, he explained that the coalition made a proposal on a number of issues which would have assisted in the implementation of the bill.

But Parliament refused their proposals which they feel will not ensure a smooth implementation of the bill.

They believe that government has not done due diligence to the implementation of the RTI Bill.

Parliament will Tuesday, March 26, 2019 pass the Right to Information Bill (RTI) into law  after about two decades of waiting.

This follows the conclusion of the consideration of the bill on Friday.

The last amendment to the RTI Bill, which was proposed by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament (MP) for Okaikoi Central, Patrick Yaw Boamah, changed the implementation Ministry of the bill from the Attorney General and Ministry of Justice to the Ministry of Information.

After the adoption of the amendment, the Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu indicated that the RTI Bill would be read the third time and passed next Tuesday.

It would be recalled that Parliament had earlier approved a motion to delay the implementation of the RTI Bill till January, 2020 after it is passed.

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) MP for Suhum, Frederick Opare-Ansah, had earlier proposed in the amendment that the RTI Bill should come into force 12 months from the date on which the Act is assented to by the President.

He claimed that public institutions needed to be given time to engage information officers and establish information offices to facilitate the release of information to the public.

But Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu reviewed the proposal to read that "This Act shall come into force at the beginning of the next financial year."