Transfer Of Knowledge In Public Service: Speaker Calls For Memory Bank

The Speaker of Parliament, Mr Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, has called for the creation of an institutional memory bank to help enhance the transfer of knowledge in the public service.

He said there was a pressing need for state institutions to create a common platform where present and retired public officials could share knowledge and transfer experiences.

Courtesy call

Mr Bagbin made the call when the executive of the ex-Parliamentary Service Staff Association of Ghana (EPSSAG) paid a courtesy call on him in Parliament last Friday.

The leadership of the EPSSAG called on the Speaker to remind him of a commitment that was made by his predecessor, Prof. Aaron Mike Ocquaye, to allocate office accommodation to serve as a secretariat for the association.


Mr Bagbin urged the group to ensure its members took advantage of the opportunity offered them to visit Parliament’s Medical Centre for regular check-ups.

He said the centre now boasted critical equipment to address some of their health challenges.

He assured members of the group of his willingness to engage with the relevant departments to see to it that an office accommodation was made available to support their work.

He urged them to develop programmes and activities that would bring both retired and serving staff together to share ideas on the need to ensure harmony in their work as parliamentary service staff.

Mr Bagbin used the occasion to advise serving staff particularly directors to endeavour to soften their hold on what he described as undefined sources of power to maltreat their subordinates.


The Chairperson of the association, Ms Lillian Bruce-Lyle, appealed to the Speaker to assist the members to address critical concerns bordering on welfare and health needs.

That, she said, would ease the burden associated with old age.

Ms Bruce-Lyle urged the Speaker to support the association’s effort at creating an income-generating venture to cushion the work of the association and its members.